Butt, Aqib powered PTI to win against Muscat CT

Sports Monday 16/December/2019 05:19 AM
By: Times News Service
Butt, Aqib powered PTI to win against Muscat CT

Muscat: Oman national stars Ahmed Fayyaz Butt and Aqib Ilyas powered Passage to India (PTI) to an exciting 3-wickets victory against Muscat CT at Oman Cricket’s grassy ground 1 in Amerat on Saturday.

Cruising at 136 for 2 in 32 overs, Muscat saw a dramatic collapse reducing it to 158 for 6 in 39 overs after star opener Jatinder Singh departed at 60 off 91. Shoaib Khan (46) and Waibhav Wategaonkar (33 not out) were the other notable scorers. Pacer Ahmed Fayyaz Butt was the pick of the bowlers, taking 4 for 39 as Muscat limped its way to 225 for 8 in 50 overs.

PTI faced little trouble surpassing Muscat’s modest total, scoring 228 for 7 in the 43rd over. Aqib and Amir Kaleem led the way with solid 77 and 38 respectively. Ayaan Khan, Samay Shrivastava and Siddharth Prasad claimed two wickets each.

Brief Scores (Premier Division): Muscat CT 225 for 8 in 50 overs (Jatinder Singh 60 – 6x4, Shoaib Khan 46 – 2x4, 2x6, Ahmad Fayyaz Butt 4-39) lost to Passage To India 228 for 7 in 42.5 overs (Aqib Ilyas 77 – 7x4, 1x6, Aamir Kaleem 38 – 5x4, Ayaan Mohammed Khan 2-48, Samay Shrivastava 2-44, Siddharth Prasad 2-58) by 3 wickets.

Danish shines in easy win for AER

Danish Mohammed’s magnificent 122 was the highlight of AER’s 38-run win over Ooredoo in an A Division clash at Oman Cricket’s grassy ground 2 on Saturday.

Ooredoo did well with the ball, dismissing AER for 220 after opting to bowl first. Danish topscored with a stylish century while Imran Rijvi chipped in with a useful 33. Muhammed Waqas bowled a superb spell, taking 5 for 5.

Struggling at 26 for 3 in 8 overs, Ooredoo found itself in deeper trouble when it lost its eight wickets for only 112 runs on the board. It was finally dismissed for 182 in the 49th over due to brilliant bowling by Masud Pervez (3 for 27) and Damish Mohammed (3 for 28).

Brief Scores (A Division): AER 220 all out in 38.2 overs (Danish Mohammad 122 – 9x4, 9x6, Imran Riji 33 – 2x4, Muhammed Waqas 5-51, Vijayanand Dhayanandan 2-59, Siddh Hemal 2-50) beat Ooredoo 182 all out in 48.2 overs (Dammika Premadasa 39 – 4x4, Gayash Dias 37 – 3x4, Masud Parvez 3-27, Danish Mohammed 3-28, Chadith Lakmal 2-29) by 38 runs.

Satham steers MM to victory

Modern Muscat (MM) rode on Satham Hussain’s solid 55 to beat Mott MacDonald by 4 wickets in a C Division encounter at Muscat Municipality ground 2.

Chasing 123 to win, Modern Muscat reached the target in the final over, losing 6 wickets in the process. Suseendran Siraichezhian’s 43 at the top of the order was the other notable effort before Satham’s valuable unbeaten knock.

Brief Scores (C Division): Mott Macdonald 122 all out in 18 overs (Nandkumar Jadav 79 – 11x4, 2x6, Ismail 3-27, Shine 3-22) lost to Modern Muscat 123 for 6 in 19.2 overs (Satham Hussain 55 – 5x4, Suseendran Siraichezhian 43 – 2x4, Nandkumar Jadhav 2-14) by 4 wickets.

Big win for Bank Muscat

In another C Division clash, Asghar Khan and Zeeshan Tufail were the heroes of Bank Muscat’s emphatic 52-run win against Modern Mraq.

Asghar struck a scintillating 84 off 63 balls as Bank Muscat posted 187 for 6 in 20 overs. Shoaib Mohammed was the most successful bowler, taking 4 for 33.

Zeeshan Tufail was once again at his brilliant best, taking 4 for 8 as Modern Mraq was bundled out for only 135 in the 17th over. Mohsin Nazir and Asghar Khan bagged two wickets each.

Shoaib Mohammed (36) and Usman Asghar (35) were Modern Mraq’s main scorers.

Brief Scores (C Division): Bank Muscat 187 for 6 in 20 overs (Asghar Khan 84 – 12x4, Manan Tufail 39 – 4x4, 1x6, Shoaib Mohammed 4-33, Jahid Mohammed 2-34) beat Modern Mraq 135 all out in 16.5 overs (Shoaib Mohammed 36 – 1x4, 3x6, Usman Asghar 35 – 5x4, Zeeshan Tufail 4-8, Mohsin Nazir 2-17, Asghar Khan 2-3) by 52 runs