Cricket: PTI stretch winning streak, Sinha sinks Zawawi Powertech

Sports Sunday 14/October/2018 17:03 PM
By: Times News Service
Cricket: PTI stretch winning streak, Sinha sinks Zawawi Powertech

MUSCAT: Amir Kaleem and Mohammed Bilal powered Passage to India (PTI) to yet another victory against Al Turki NMC in a Premier Division clash at the Ministry of Sports grassy ground 1 in Amerat on Friday.
Asked to bat first, PTI was in deep trouble having lost its top three wickets for only 5 runs. Its problems mounted after it slipped further to be 51 for 5. However a solid 93-run unbroken seventh wicket partnership between Amir Kaleem (61 off 83) and Mohammed Sajjad (57 off 39) saw the team to a fighting total of 204 for 6 in 50 overs. Asif Khan chipped in with a patient 50 off 109 balls. Rohit Malik bagged 3 for 45 while Gopendra Bohara took 2 for 38.
Al Turki suffered early setbacks too, teetering at 29 for 4 and then 112 for 7 before being bowled out for 144 in the 47th over. Jayam Singh topscored with 49 off 91 while Sankata Prasad contributed 25. Mohammed Bilal was the pick of the bowlers taking 4 for 33 while Amir Kaleem bowled superbly too bagging 3 wickets for 19 runs. Bilal Khan claimed 2 for 31.
Brief scores: PTI 204 for 6 in 50 overs (Amir Kaleem 61 not out – 6x4, Muhammed Sajjad 57 not out – 3x4, 3x6, Asif Khan 50 – 4x4, 1x6. Rohit Malik 3-45, Gopendra Bohara 2-38) beat Al Turki NMC 144 all out in 46.2 overs (Jayam Singh 49, Sankata Prasad 25 – 2x4. Mohammed Bilal 4-33, Amir Kaleem 3-19, Bilal Khan 2-31) by 60 runs.
Lakmal, Dias shine
In an A Division game, Chaminda Lakmal and Gayash Dias steered Sinha to a big 84-run win over Zawawi Powertech Engineering at MOS grassy ground 1 on Saturday.
Batting first, Sinha posted a healthy 240 for 9 on the board thanks to valuable contributions from Lakmal (62 off 98) and Nalaka Pathum 56 off 58). Manikandan Govindrajan claimed 3 for 24.
Zawawi failed to put up serious fight and folded up for a paltry 156 in the 39th over. Prabhakarn Kannan topscored with 44 off 45. Gayash Dias and Niluka Kandaddarage bowled superbly to claim 3 wickets each.
Brief scores: Sinha 240 for 9 in 50 overs (Chaminda Lakmal 62 – 4x4, 3x6, Nalaka Pathum 56 – 6x4, 2x6. Manikandan Govindarajan 3-24) defeated Zawawi Powertech Engineering 156 all out in 38.1 overs (Prabhakaran Kannan 44 – 7x4. Gayash Dias 3-18, Niluka Kandaddarage 3-30) by 84 runs.