Women’s Cricket Sohar emerge champions

Sports Tuesday 06/February/2018 16:58 PM
By: Times News Service
Women’s Cricket Sohar emerge champions

Muscat: Women’ Cricket Sohar were crowned champions of the Al Turki Enterprises-sponsored Women’s League after defeating Indian School Al Ghubra (ISG) by nine wickets in the final at Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground I in Al Amerat on Sunday.
Batting first, ISG scored 119 for five in 20 overs thanks to Shreya Sandesh Dhuri’s unbeaten 50 off 63 deliveries. Akshara Srinivasan contributed 17 off 18.
Women’s Cricket Sohar achieved the target 18.2 overs, scoring 120 for one thanks to brilliant batting by Kavita Soudati (59 not out off 69) and Anu Amal (35 not out off 33).
Brief scores: ISG 119 for 5 in 20 overs (Shreya Sandesh Dhuri 50, Akshara Srinivasan 17) lost to Women’s Cricket Sohar 120 for 1 in 18.2 overs (Kavita Soudati 59 n.o., Anu Amal 35 n.o.).
Ajith inspires Maxitech

In the men’s league, Ajith Bhaskara bagged three wickets to derail TR Engineering’s run chase as Maxitech International won the H Division game by 17 runs at the Muscat Municipality Ground IV in Al Amerat.
Batting first, Maxitech posted a healthy 177 for eight on the board in 20 overs thanks to valuable knocks by Rahul Rajeev (44 off 30), Shinu Prasad (41 off 23) and Nousad Haneefa (20 off 15).
Shareef Al Balushi and Shakir Khan claimed three and two wickets respectively.
TR Engineering were cruising at 110 for three before Ajith Bhaskara struck thrice to flatten their run chase, restricting them to 160 for seven in 20 overs. Nousad Haneefa and Mohan Babu took two wickets each. Asjad Mohammed (42 off 28), Shareef Al Balushi (41 off 31) and Javed Shaikh (27 off 21) were the main scorers.
Brief scores: Maxitech International 177 for 8 in 20 overs (Rahul Rajeev 44, Shinu Prasad 41, Nousad Haneefa 20; Shareef Al Balushi 3/30, Shakir Khan 2/29) bt TR Engineering 160 for 7 in 20 overs (Asjad Mohammed 42, Shareef Al Balushi 41, Javed Shaikh 27; Ajith Bhaskara 3/25, Nousad Haneefa 2/25, Mohan Babu 2/29).
Miras lifts Lulu

In an I Division game, Lulu Hypermarket handed Al Siraj Holdings a 51-run defeat thanks to Miras Mohammed’s 38-ball 62 at OAC Ground III in Al Seeb.
Asked to bat first, Lulu posted a mammoth 205 for nine in 20 overs. Miras led the way with a brilliant knock. Shahul Hameed (unbeaten 32 off 13), Shabeeb Parammal (27 off 33), Jomon Thnakchan (26 off 20) and Ansal Chalil Ali (25 off 11) were the other leading scorers. Panner Selvan and Krishna Kumar claimed four and two wickets respectively for Al Siraj.
Al Siraj was off to a good start, collecting 87 without loss but paid heavily for slow batting as 154 for four was all they could gather in 20 overs. Mohammed Irfan top-scored with 72 off 55 while Krishna Kumar and Roshan Kumar contributed 35 not out and 25 respectively.
Brief scores: Lulu Hypermarket 205 for 9 in 20 overs (Miras Mohammed 62, Shahul Hameed 32 n.o., Shabeeb Parammal 27, Jomon Thankachan 26, Ansal Chalil Ali 25; Panner Selvan 4/28, Krishna Kumar 2/35) bt Al Siraj Holdings 154 for 4 in 20 overs (Mohammed Irfan 72, Krishna Kumar 35 n.o., Roshan Kumar 25).