COVID-19: Arrivals from 10 countries to be denied entry into Oman

Oman Monday 22/February/2021 19:44 PM
By: Times News Service
COVID-19: Arrivals from 10 countries to be denied entry into Oman

Muscat: People arriving from a list of 10 countries will not be allowed entry into Oman, under the latest decision passed by the Supreme Committee to deal with COVID-19. The decision was made to stop the spread of the disease in the country, and includes arrivals from Lebanon, Sudan, South Africa, Brazil, Nigeria, Tanzania, Guinea, Ghana, Sierra Leone, and Ethiopia.

The list also includes people who have passed through these countries, or transited through them in the 14 days prior to their travel to Oman, as part of the efforts to protect people in the country from COVID-19, and make sure the efforts taken by everyone to minimise infections continue to have the desired impact.

The meeting of the Supreme Committee, which was chaired by Hammoud bin Faisal Al Busaidi, the Minister of Interior, also followed up on the developments of the pandemic, and look at other measures required to prevent its transmission.

The decision to ban arrivals from these 10 countries will come into effect at midnight on Thursday, and will last for a span of 15 days. Exceptions to this are Omani citizens, diplomats of foreign missions in the Sultanate, and healthcare workers employed in the country and their families.

As it had said previously, the Supreme Committee also urged people in the country to not travel overseas unless absolutely necessary, so that people do not come into contact with more virulent strains of the disease.