Oman-Jersey match ends in no result

Sports Saturday 21/May/2016 23:10 PM
By: Times News Service
Oman-Jersey match ends in no result

Muscat: Oman’s opening match of the ICC World Cricket League Division V competition against hosts Jersey ended in a no result due to rain interruption.
After a delayed start, the match was reduced to 23 overs- a-side and Jersey won the toss and asked Oman to bat first.
According to information received here, Oman, who are coached by Sri Lankan great Duleep Mendis, were given a rousing start by Zeeshan Maqsood, who scored a 14-ball 29, including five fours.
But Oman could manage just 132 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their quota of 23 overs.
In reply, Jersey were cruising along well at 48 for one in nine overs when rain forced the play to be stopped for the day.
On Sunday, Oman take on Nigeria while Jesery face Vanuatu.
Accoding to ICC, the World Cricket League offers teams a chance to get promoted right up to Division 2, which is the final stage in the pathway to qualification for the ICC Intercontinental Cup, ICC’s four-day first-class competition for Associate and Affiliate members, as well as the 50-over ICC World Cricket League Championship.
The winner of the ICC Intercontinental Cup will play the 10th-ranked Test nation in the four-Test ICC Test Challenge in 2018. If the Intercontinental Cup winner clinches the ICC Test Challenge, then it will become the 11th Test nation until 2022. Similarly, the top sides from the ICC World Cricket League Championship, along with the bottom four sides on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings as on 30 September 2017, will qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 with the top two sides progressing to the event proper in 2019.

(23 overs maximum)
Zeeshan Maqsood c Bodenstein b Perchard 29
Khawar Ali c Dunford b Kynman 2
V. Wategaonkar c Hawkins-Kay b Palmer 26
Jatinder Singh c Jenner b Palmer 24
Ajay Lalcheta c Dunford b Stevens 13
Mehran Khan c Stevens b Palmer 14
R. Ranpura c Gough b Perchard 3
Aamir Kaleem st Dunford b Perchard 10
S. Khadye b Stevens 3
Munis Ansari not out 3
Extras (lb-2, w-2, nb-1) 5
Total (9 wkts; 23 overs) 132
Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-40, 3-71, 4-96, 5-100, 6-114, 7-124, 8-126, 9-132.
Bowling: AW Hawkins-Kay 3-0-20-0; B. Kynman 2-0-18-1 (w-1); CW Perchard 4-0-17-3; CJ Bodenstein 2-0-13-0 (nb-1); NAT Watkins 4-0-18-0 (w-1); RJG Palmer 5-0-29-3; BDH Stevens 3-0-15-2.
PW Gough not out 18
JW Jenner lbw Aamir Kaleem 25
BDH Stevens not out 2
Extras (lb-3) 3
Total (1 wkt; 9 overs) 48
Fall of wicket: 1-46.
Bowling: R. Ranpura 2-0-18-0; Bilal Khan 3-0-13-0; A. Lalcheta 2-0-4-0; Aamir Kaleem 1-0-6-1; Jatinder Singh 1-0-4-0.