Jayalalithaa to be sworn in as CM of Tamil Nadu on May 23

World Saturday 21/May/2016 22:49 PM
By: Times News Service
Jayalalithaa to be sworn in as CM of Tamil Nadu on May 23

Chennai: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) supremo J. Jayalalithaa will be sworn in as the chief minister of southern state Tamil Nadu for a second consecutive tenure along with 28 ministers, including his confidant O. Panneerselvam, on May 23.
The swearing-in function will take place at the Madras University Centenary Auditorium here.
Jayalalitha on Saturday called on Governor K. Rosaiah at the Raj Bhavan and submitted a letter informing him of her election as Leader of AIADMK legislature party. Rosaiah gave her a letter inviting her to form the government.
"Jayalalithaa furnished a list of persons to be appointed ministers in her cabinet which was approved by Governor Rosaiah," an official release from the Raj Bhavan said.
Jayalalithaa will have portfolios of Home and All India Services including the IAS, public and general administration, stated the release.
Panneerselvam will be the Minister for Finance, Personnel and Administrative Reforms again, while former Dindigul MP C. Srinivasan will be the Minister for Forests.
Several of the sitting ministers have been named to hold offices again including P. Thangamani (Electricity), S.P. Velumani (Municipal Administration and Rural Development), Edappadi K. Palaniswami (Public Works), K.T. Rajenthra Bhalaji (Rural Industries), R.B. Udhayakumar (Revenue), S.P. Shanmuganathan (Milk and Dairy Development) and KC Veeramani (Commercial Taxes), the release said.
Including Jayalalithaa, there will be four women in the cabinet besides three medical doctors.
Deputy Mayor of Chennai Corporation P. Benjamin, who won from Maduravoyal here amid tough competition from the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), has been named Minister for School Education and Sports and Youth Welfare. MR Vijayabaskar will be Transport Minister.
Edappadi K. Palaniswami has been allocated Public Works in addition to the portfolios of Highways and Minor Ports, which he held in the outgoing cabinet.
Sellur K. Raju will head Cooperation again besides Labour, it said.