Cricket: Hong Kong too good for Oman at ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifier
October 2, 2016 | 8:17 PM
by Times News Service
Oman Under-19 cricket team suffered another defeat.

Muscat: Oman found Hong Kong too hot to handle in a six-wicket defeat, their third loss on the trott, in the ongoing ICC U-19 World Cup Asia Qualifier Division 2 competition in the Malaysian capital of Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

According to information received here, Oman were asked to bat first in their final match of Group B but found the going tough from the beginning. Thanks mainly to a patient knock of 67 runs by vice-captain Paritosh Hitesh, Oman managed to reach 139 before being bowled out in 46.5 overs.

Indunil Udara with an unbeaten 20 and Mohit Kanaiyalal Badiyani with 17 were the other Oman batsman to reach the double figures.

Leg-spinner Jhatavedh Subramanyan did much of the damage claiming five wickets while medium pacer Sarfaraz Khan bagged three wickets.

In reply, Hong Kong paced their innings well and reached the target in just 33.5 overs, scoring 140 runs for four wickets.

Oman, who had started their campaign with an impressive victory over Thailand, suffered consecutive defeats against Kuwait and UAE before Sunday’s loss to Hong Kong.

The Sultanate squad will now take on Qatar in a seventh place play-off match on Tuesday.



Praythyosh Sivakumar c A. Mohammad b S. Khan 1

I Joseph Manjila c K. Sodhi b S. Khan 2

Paritosh Hitesh c Kabir Sodhi b Subramanyan 67

Wasim Ali lbw Karandeep Singh 7

V. Shreeeraman Iyer run out 5

M. Kanaiyalal Badiyani c K. Sodhi b Subramanyan 17

I. Udara Palihawadana (not out) 20

Moshin Qureshi c Waqas Khan b Sarfaraz Khan 1

Mohammed Salman b Subramanyan 0

Ubaid Ullah b Subramanyan 0

H. Maheshkumar Ganatra lbw Subramanyan 0

Extras (b-1, lb-1, w-17) 19

Total (all out, 46.5 overs) 139

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-6, 3-23, 4-71, 5-103, 6-129, 7-139, 8-139, 9-139.

Bowling: Karandeep Singh 8-1-20-1 (w-4); Sarfaraz Khan 9-0-36-3 (w-4); Hamed Khan 6-1-11-0; J. Subramanyan 9.5-2-29-5 (w-2); Harpreet Singh 10-2-29-0 (w-1); Sikandar Zafar 4-0-12-0 (w-4).


Kabir Sodhi c Shreeeraman Iyer b Maheshkumar Ganatra 21

Harpreet Singh lbw Wasim Ali 47

Hamed Khan c Maheshkumar Ganatra b Wasim Ali 20

J. Subramanyan c M. Ganatra b Paritosh Hitesh 2

Waqas Khan (not out) 20

Sarfaraz Khan (not out) 12

Extras (lb-2, w-16) 18

Total (4 wkts; 33.5 overs) 140

Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-89, 3-104, 4-104.

Bowling: Moshin Qureshi 4-0-19-0 (w-2); Wasim Ali 10-5-27-2 (w-2); H. Maheshkumar Ganatra 6.5-1-21-1 (w-2); I. Joseph Manjila 3-0-14-0 (w-1); M. Kanaiyalal Badiyani 3-0-27-0 (w-1); I. Udara Palihawadana 4-0-14-0 (w-1); Paritosh Hitesh 3-1-16-1 (w-2).

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news