Cricket: Strikers, Sarco, MCC New and QBG score exciting victories

Sports Saturday 05/January/2019 16:24 PM
By: Times News Service
Cricket: Strikers, Sarco, MCC New and QBG score exciting victories

MUSCAT: Muhammed Rizwan claimed 6 wickets for 29 to steer Glory Bower Strikers to an exciting 3-wicket win over Platinum Services Diamond (PSD) in an A Division clash at Oman Cricket grassy ground 2 in Amerat on Friday.
Asked to bat first, PSD scored a robust 270 before being all out in the 47th over. Masud Pervez topscored with a solid 80 not out. Ebn Eameen Habib (60) and Imran Rijvi (32) batted well too, making useful contributions to the total. Muhammed Rizwan was the pick of the bowlers, taking six of the first eight wickets to fall, reducing PSD to 135 for 8 before a 135-run partnership for the 9th wicket between Masud and Eameen powered their team to a fighting total.
Strikers fought valiantly till they overhauled the total in the 42nd over, scoring 272 for 7 thanks to brilliant batting by Oliyath Vazhayil (60), Shehbaz Nasar (55), Ramesh Kinarath (46) and Talib Hussain (44). Sajeed Ahmed and Chadith Lakmal bagged three and two wickets respectively.
Brief scores: PSD 270 all out in 46.1 overs (Masud Pervez 80 not out – 7x4, 4x6, Ibn Eameen Habib 60 – 8x4, 1x6, Imran Rijvi 32 – 6x4. Muhammed Rizwan 6-29) lost to Glory Bower Strikers 272 for 7 in 41.4 overs (Oliyath Vazhayil 60 – 9x4, Shehbaz Nasar 55 – 3x4, 5x6, Ramesh Kinarath 46 – 7x4, Talib Hussain 44 – 6x4. Sajeed Ahmed 3-49, Chadith Lakmal 2-59) by 3 wickets.
Salian shines for Sarco
A superb bowling effort by Pradeep Salian, who took 5 for 16, powered Sarco to a comfortable 117-run victory against Basta CT in a B Division game at Muscat Municipality ground 1.
Batting first, Sarco scored a big 244 for 6 in 30 overs thanks to vital knocks by Ajay Menon (44), Rakesh Patel (43) and Sathisha Achary (40). Murad Khan and Prasad Peruli picked up two wickets each.
Basta failed to offer any resistance and was dismissed for a paltry 127 in the 20th over. Deepak Gakhar and Darwish Ellickal were the only notable batsmen, scoring 28 and 25 respectively. Apart from Pradeep, Rakesh Patel bowled well too, taking 3 for 26.
Brief scores: Sarco 244 for 6 in 30 overs (Ajay Menon 44 – 5x4, 2x6, Rakesh Patel 43 – 5x4, Sathisha Achary 40 – 2x4, 2x6. Murad Khan 2-32, Prasad Peruli 2-45) trounced Basta CT 127 all out in 19.2 overs (Deepak Gakhar 28 – 5x4, 1x6, Darwish Ellickal 25 – 4x4. Pradeep Salian 5-16, Rakesh Patel 3-26) by 117 runs.
MCCC New win
On a day bowlers dominated the scene across the league, Sidh Mehta bagged five wickets for 27 runs to help MCCC New to a thrilling 2-run win over OCT Amerat in a B Division match at Muscat Municipality ground 2.
OCT Amerat, asked to bat first, was bundled out for a meagre 126 in the 29th over due largely to magnificent bowling by Sidh. Issa Mohammed and Salim Haider contributed 35 and 24 runs respectively.
MCCC New was fully tested by gustry OCT Amerat bowlers before it managed to chase down the small target in the 22nd over, scoring 128 for 8. Beary and Arjun batted well. Scoring 42 and 28 respectively. Aiman Khalid picked up three wickets for OCT Amerat.
Brief scores: OCT Amerat 126 all out in 28.1 overs (Issa Mohammed 35 – 5x4, Salim Haider 24 – 1x4. Sidh Mehta 5-27) lost to MCCC New 128 for 8 in 21.4 overs (Beary 42 – 9x4, Arjun Dhiman 28 – 5x4. Aiman Khalid 3-42) by 2 wickets.
Mott MacDonald lose
In another nail-biting finish, Qurum Business Group (QBG) managed to beat Mott MacDonald by 2 runs in a keenly fought C Division match at Muscat Municipality ground 1.
QBG posted a healthy 170 for 8 in 20 overs on the board thanks to notable contributions by Ansal Ali (38) and Pradeesh Kumar (23). Tawsif Tambe claimed 3 for 25 while Prakash Kesarkar and Savinraj Rajappan took two wickets each.
Mott MacDonald gave it their best shot but still fell short by 2 runs, managing to reach 168 before being dismissed on the penultimate ball of the final over. Prakash Kesarkar shone with the bat too, scoring 53 while Bronal Barboj chipped in with 23. Muthumurugan claimed 3 for 29 while Shiyas Ibrahim and Ansal Ali bagged two wickets each.
Brief scores: QBG 170 for 8 in 20 overs (Ansal Ali 38 – 5x4, Pradeesh Kumar 23 – 2x4. Tawsif Tambe 3-25, Prakash Kesarkar 2-25, Savinraj Rajappan 2-29) beat Mott MacDonald 168 all out in 19.5 overs (Prakash Kesarkar 53 – 9x4, Bronal Barboj 23 – 1x4. Muthumurugan 3-29, Shiyas Ibrahim 2-23, Ansal Ali 2-28) by 2 runs.