Vaishali leaves for London to take part in exhibition match

Sports Monday 28/May/2018 14:05 PM
By: Times News Service
Vaishali leaves for London to take part in exhibition match

Muscat: As a mark of Oman Cricket’s support to a global initiative to promote gender equality, Vaishali Jesrani has left for London on Monday to represent the Sultanate in a high profile exhibition cricket match being held to observe World Gender Equality Day on May 30.
Vaishali Jesrani, the Oman Cricket’s Women’s Cricket Co-ordinator, has been picked to play for FairBreak Global XI in a T20 match against Sir John Paul Getty XI at Wormsley Park, one of the most beautiful cricket grounds in England.
“This will be the first time that 12 women cricketers from 11 countries will be together on one platform promoting a worthy cause. I am honoured to be part of such an illustrious team,” said Vaishali before leaving for London.
Representing the FairBreak Global XI, Vaishali will be the first Omani player to be a part of such a high profile international event.
The FairBreak Global XI is being coached by Vasbert Drakes, former West Indies player, Geoff Lawson, former Australian fast bowler, and Damien Wright, and will be managed by Saba Nasim, who was awarded a BEM for her coaching of women in England.
The John Paul Getty Foundation has never fielded a women’s team but their men’s team has included star players like Brian Lara and Shane Warne in the past.
While the entry tickets are selling quickly, the match will also be surrounded by a host of fund-raising events.
Vaishali said the game will be a great leaning experience for her.
“I am looking forward to learning new things from so many international stars in our team. The fact that the game is being held to promote a great cause gives all the players a lot of satisfaction,” added Vaishali.
FairBreak Global XI: Akanksha Kohli (India), Alex Blackwell (Australia), Diane Bimenyimana (Rwanda), Diviya GK (Singapore), Divya Saxena (Canada), Lakshmi Yadav (India), Mariko Hill (Hong Kong), Nadia Gruny (USA), Vaishali Jesrani (Oman), Selina Solman (Vanuatu), Shamilia Connell (West Indies) and Suzie Bates (New Zealand).