IPL: Kolkata beats RCB in Bengaluru

Sports Monday 30/April/2018 13:09 PM
By: Times News Service
IPL: Kolkata beats RCB in Bengaluru

Muscat: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by six wickets at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday.
Bad fortune hit RCB hard as their star player A.B. de Villiers was declared unfit with a viral fever. Moreover, Bangalore lost the toss and KKR captain decided to bowl first on a turning wicket.
Bangalore captain Virat Kohli rung in the changes, bringing in New Zealand pacer Tim Southee and leggie Murugan Ashwin, besides Brendon McCullum in A.B. de Villiers’ place.
RCB started rather well as the left and right hand opening partnership between Quinton de Kock and Brendon McCullum scored 29 and 38 respectively before both being dismissed.
It then fell to Virat Kohli who steadied the ship and later accelerated by smashing 68 of 44 balls. Mandeep Singh played a useful cameo, scoring 19 off 11. Banagalore managed 175 for the loss four wickets in 20 overs.
For Kolkata, Kuldeep Yadav balled a miserly spell of one for 20 in his four overs. Also, West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell picked up three wickets but went for an excessive 31 in his three overs.
Kolkata had a shaky start as openers Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn were dropped on more than one occasion. The mistakes cost Bangalore big as Lynn went on to score an unbeaten 62 runs off 52 balls, taking home the man of the match award.
Uthappa and Narine scored 36 and 27 respectively, while Dinesh Karthik scored a useful 23 off 10 towards the end of the game. Kolkata won the match with five balls to spare.
Bangalore leggie Murugan Ashwin and seamer Mohammad Siraj picked up two wickets each, but conceded 36 and 40 respectively in their four overs.
Match summary
First Innings
Royal Challengers Bangalore batting:
Virat Kohli – 68 (44) not out
Brendon McCullum – 38 (28) c Karthik b Russell
Quinton de Kock - 29 (27) c Gill b Yadav
RCB: 175/4 (20 overs)
Kolkata Knight Riders bowling:
Andre Russell – 3/31 (3 overs)
Kuldeep Yadav – 1/20 (4 overs)
Second innings:
Kolkata Knight Riders batting:
Chris Lynn – 62 (52) not out
Robin Uthappa – 36 (21) c Southee b Ashwin
Sunil Narine – 27 (19) de Grandhomme b Ashwin
Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling:
Murugan Ashwin – 2/36 (4 overs)
Mohammad Siraj – 2/40 (4 overs)
KKR: 176/4 (19.1 overs)
Man of the match: Chris Lynn