Oman Cricket Salalah celebrates another successful season

Sports Tuesday 17/April/2018 21:57 PM
By: Times News Service
Oman Cricket Salalah celebrates another successful season

Muscat: After a hectic schedule of matches, Oman Cricket Salalah celebrated the success of second cricket league season in Dhofar region while honouring the top teams and invidual performers during the Awards Gala in Salalah recently.
The inaugural Awards Gala, organised at Crowne Plaza Hotel, was presided over by Faisal Ali Al Nahdi, Director Activities and Sports Development, Directorate General of Sports Affairs Dhofar Governorate, in the presence of Oman Cricket chairman and guest of honour Kanak Khimji.


Oman Cricket secretary Madhu Jesrani, treasurer Kiran Asher, OC Women’s Cricket Co-ordinator Vaishali Jesrani and Anil Khimji, Director of Khimji Ramdas Group, and all the members of Oman Cricket Salalah Executive Committee also graced the ceremony.
Speaking about the success of 2017-18 season, Anil Kumar, Secretary of Oman Cricket Salalah, informed that a total of 165 matches were played during the season.
“The Salalah Cricket League started on November 24 and concluded on March 9. We have organisd a 165 matches across four divisions, in which 27 teams took part, and the subsequent Champion of Champions tournament,” he said.
“Though the League has concluded, we are still in the process of hosting the first ever Knockout Tournament in two categories - Senior Cup and Junior Cup. Both the finals will be played on April 27,” he added.
Oman Cricket Salalah vice-chairman Axay Mehta and Oman Cricket Treasurer Kiran Asher also spoke on the occasion.
Kiran Asher spoke briefly about the infrastructure development in Muscat while the stressing the need to form Dhofar Cricket Team and also to organise inter-region matches between Muscat, Sohar and Salalah tams.
Later, chief guest Faisal Ali Al Nahdi, Kanak Khimji and Madhu Jesrani presented trophies and medals to top performers in different divisions.
During the ceremony, the Salalah cricket body also honours all the umpires, who officiated during the season, as well as the sponsors, including Al Shams, Al Raazi Group of Hospitals, Al Bayan Water, Al Safwah Juice, Dhofar Beverages, Sweets of Oman, Nasr Arabian, Muscat Pharmacy and Khimji Ramdas.

List of awardees
A Division: Danube (winners), Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman (runners-up).
B Division: First Technology (winners), Ahbar Trading (runners-up).
C Division: Gulf Foundation (winners), Muscat Pharmacy (runners-up).
D Division: Sabil Al Khair (winners), Al Hakeem Medicals (runners-up).
Champion of Champions Trophy: Danube (winners), Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman (runners-up).

Individual honours
A Division: Ardaf LLC’s Zain Al Abdeen (best batsman), Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic’s Asif Ali (best bowler), Al Mamoorah’s Iqram (man of the series).
B Division: Creative Engineering’s Nimal Maxom (best batsman), First Technology’s Sajan Thomas (best bowler) and Riju Raj (man of the series).
C Division: Gulf Foundation’s Azim (best batsman), Gulf Foundation’s Rais (best bowler), Al Naba Services’s Kuttoos (man of the series).
D Division: Al Hakeem’s Siddiq (best batsman), Toufiq United’s Monir Hossain (best bowler).