Oman Cricket: Trust Oilfield win D Division title

Sports Monday 12/February/2018 16:26 PM
By: Times News Service
Oman Cricket: Trust Oilfield win D Division title

Muscat: Undefeated Trust Oilfield Services were crowned Enhance-sponsored D Division champions after a four-wicket win against STS Tebodin in their final league match at Muscat Municipality Ground I.
Opting to bat first after winning the toss, STS could gather only 127 for eight in 20 overs. Virendra Dharmaraj (25) and T. Kaliraj (20) were the only notable scorers. Shahid Mehmood bowled a splendid spell, taking four wickets for 12 runs.
Trust Oilfield slowly but steadily found their way to victory, scoring 130 for six in 17.2 overs. Aiman Khalid Al Sabri and Alik Khan scored 23 runs each. The D Division champions won all seven games to stay unbeaten in the league.
Brief scores: STS Tebodin 127 for 8 in 20 overs (Virendra Dharmaraj 25, T. Kaliraj 20; Shahid Mehmood 4/12) lost to Trust Oilfield Services 130 for 6 in 17.2 overs (Aiman Khalid Al Sabri 23, Alif Khan 23).
Big win for Renaissance

Renaissance scored another big win in the Khimji Ramdas-sponsored A Division, thrashing OCT Muscat by eight wickets at the Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground I in Al Amerat.
Asked to bat first, OCT Muscat folded up for a paltry 128 in 37.1 overs. Wasim Ismail Al Balushi (22) and Shoaib Ismail Al Balushi (20) were the only notable scorers.
For Renaissance, Kurukulasuriya Sajith and Batagoda Ranasinghe bagged three wickets each while Faizal Jerome took two.
Renaissance reached the target in 29 overs, scoring 130 for two thanks to brilliant batting by openers Rishab Verma (53) and Robins Barmeda (51).
Brief scores: OCT Muscat 128 all out in 37.1 overs (Wasim Ismail Al Balushi 22, Shoaib Ismail Al Balushi 20; Kurukulasuriya Sajith 3/15, Batagoda Ranasinghe 3/26, Faizal Jerome 2/19) lost to Renaissance 130 for 2 in 29 overs (Rishab Verma 53, Robins Barmeda 51).
Rahul stars for MCS

Muscat Cricket Sports (MCS) finally unleashed their true batting potential in the last game, handing Indian Social Club (ISC) a 92-run drubbing in Al Ansari Group-sponsored B Division clash at Muscat Municipality Ground I.
Batting first, MCS amassed 329 for nine in 30 overs thanks to a superb century by Rahul Kerai (129 off 59). Tejesh Bhupendra (69 off 34) and Azeem Abdul (50 off 24) were equally good in their strokeplay. Vikram Ningappa claimed five wickets while Ansar Raza bagged three.
In reply, ISC gave it a good shot but maintaining a run rate of over ten per over was way beyond them as they could collect only 232 for nine in 30 overs. Shrey Wilson (68 off 46), Ansar Raza (45 off 36) and Druvin Shetty (39 off 28) were the main scorers. For MCS, Bharat Barmeda bagged three wickets while Bhavik Vekaria and Mohsin Nazir claimed two each.
Brief scores: MCS 329 for 9 in 30 overs (Rahul Kerai 129, Tejesh Bhupendra 69, Azeem Abdul 50; Vikram Ningappa 5/48, Ansar Raza 3/51) bt ISC 232 for 9 in 30 overs (Shrey Wilson 68, Ansar Raza 45, Druvin Shetty 39).