Oman Cricket: FAP UTSC, ISC, Al Fairuz and OHI win

Sports Monday 22/January/2018 17:36 PM
By: Times News Service
Oman Cricket: FAP UTSC, ISC, Al Fairuz and OHI win

Muscat: Even an outstanding 124 not out by Rakesh Patel could not save Sarco from defeat as FAP UTSC came from behind to score a stunning five-wicket win in an Al Ansari Group-sponsored B Division clash at Muscat Municipality Ground I.
Batting first, Sarco posted a robust 242 for four in 30 overs on the board thanks to a superb 84-ball knock by opener Rakesh who stayed on to carry the bat as well. Zahid Hafiz (36 not out off 19) and Tosim Khan (33 off 30) were the other main scorers. Shafeel Meethalakath bagged two wickets for 15.
FAP UTSC made a solid start to their chase, scoring 120 for one in the 20th over thanks to a 108-run partnership between Shaidh Koottarathuttahil and Jaleel Mahamood (44). Shaid continued to bat brilliantly, adding another 72 runs for the third-wicket partnership with Ali Muhammed, who powered FAP to a sensational victory in the 29th over after Shaidh fell for 99 off only 59 balls. Pradeep Salian took two wickets.
Brief scores: Sarco 242 for 4 in 30 overs (Rakesh Patel 124 n.o., Zahid Hafiz 36 n.o., Tosim Khan 33; Shafeel Meethalakath 2/15) lost to FAP UTSC 243 for 5 in 28.1 overs (Shaidh Koottarathuttahil 99, Ali Muhammed 56 n.o., Jaleel Mahamood 44; Pradeep Salian 2-44).
ISC down Al Mada

In another B Division game, wonderful performances by Chetan Mallya (five for 22) and Bishen Singh (93 off 58) steered Indian Social Club (ISC) to a huge 10-wicket victory against Al Mada Engineering at Muscat Municipality Ground II.
Opting to bow first, ISC dismissed Al Mada for a modest 158 in the 27th over with Chetan leading the bowling honours with a five-for while Mahek Asher bagged two wickets. Deepak Bhandari (44 off 29) and Jayaprakash Narayan (44 off 62) scored the bulk of runs for Al Mada.
ISC overhauled the total in just 18.3 overs, scoring 161 without loss as openers Bishen Singh (93 off 58) and Mahek Asher (32 off 53) remained unseparated.
Brief scores: Al Mada Engineering 158 all out in 26.3 overs (Deepak Bhandari 44, Jayaprakash Narayan 44; Chetan Mallya 5/22, Mahek Asher 2/24) lost to ISC 161 for no loss in 18.3 overs (Bishen Singh 93 n.o., Mahek Asher 32).
Satham lifts Al Fairuz
Satham Hussain claimed four wickets to help Al Fairuz CT to a handsome four-wicket victory against STS Tebodin in an Enhance-sponsored D Division clash at Muscat Municipality Ground II.
Opting to bat first, STS scored 155 for six in 20 overs thanks to run-a-ball 55 by Ritesh Lad and Krunal Kishor’s 24-ball 38. Ravikumar Kanaiyan contributed 30 off 21. Satham Hussain was the most successful bowler, taking four wickets for 25 runs.
Al Fairuz achieved the target in the 17th over, scoring 156 for six thanks largely to Zaheer Ahmed’s 47 off 32 and Prokash Chowdury’s 27 off 17. Muhammed Ali Iqbal bagged two wickets.
Brief scores: STS Tebodin 155 for 6 in 20 overs (Ritesh Lad 55, Krunal Kishor 38, Ravikumar Kanaiyan 30; Satham Hussain 4/25) lost to Al Fairuz CT 156 for 6 in 16.4 overs (Zaheer Ahmed 47, Prokash Chowdury 27; Muhammed Ali Iqbal 2/40).
Douglas OHI sink Oasis

Riding on match-winning shows by Ramsheela Prasad and Abhishek Rai, Douglas OHI handed Oasis Water an embarrassing 43-run defeat despite getting out for a low score in an E Division clash at Muscat Municipality Ground III.
Deciding to bowl first, Oasis Water did well to dismiss OHI for a paltry 124 in 17.2 overs. Ramsheela Prasad topscored with 44 off 36 while Waman Jagannath slammed 40 of 28. Ratheesh Parambil claimed three wickets while Shyju Sulaiman Rawther and Shibin Padikkal took two each.
Oasis Water were in deep trouble at 46 for five in nine overs despite facing a small total and folded up for a meagre 81 in 18 overs. Only Rohan Kurian batted with some authority, scoring 30 off 28 balls. Abhishek bowled a brilliant spell, taking four wickets while Ramsheela bagged two.
Brief scores: Douglas OHI 124 all out in 17.2 overs (Ramsheela Prasad 44, Waman Jagannath 40; Ratheesh Parambil 3/13, Shyju Sulaiman 2/14, Shibin Rawther 2/28) bt Oasis Water 81 all out in 18 overs (Rohan Kurian 30; Abhishek Rai 4/18, Ramsheela Prasad 2/16).