Oman Cricket: Ayaan, Aaqib shine as Muscat CT outplay Al Turki

Sports Sunday 29/October/2017 16:46 PM
By: Times News Service
Oman Cricket: Ayaan, Aaqib shine as Muscat CT outplay Al Turki

Muscat: Muscat CT stretched their amazing unbeaten run in the Premier Division to four successive wins with a clinical eight-wicket victory over Al Turki NMC at the Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground I in Al Amerat on Saturday.
Putting Al Turki in to bat first, Muscat dismissed their hapless opponents for just 147 in the 39th over. For Al Turki, only Ajay Lalcheta showed some resistance with a fluent half century.
Ayaan Khan led the bowling honours for Muscat with a three-wicket haul while Sandeep Gaud and Badal Singh bagged two wickets each.
It took Muscat only 22.4 overs to surpass the small total, scoring 150 for two. Aaqib Ilyas was once again the leading performer with a strokeful 63 that included four big hits over the fence. Swapnil Khadye batted well too for his boundaries-laden 39.
Brief scores: Al Turki NMC 147 all out in 38.4 overs (Ajay Lalcheta 57, Twinkle Bhandari 24, Sunil Singh 22; Ayaan Khan 3/22, Sandeep Goud 2/27, Badal Singh 2/25) lost to Muscat CT 150 for 2 in 22.4 overs (Aaqib Ilyas Sulehri 63, Swapnil Khadye 39, Sudeep Chavan 23).
Faisal lifts Enhance Eagles

Mohammed Faisal’s fast moving deliveries floored Sinha as MDC Enhance Eagles scored a six-wicket win in a 50-over A Division match at the Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground I on Friday.
Faisal looked threatening throughout his six-wicket spell and Sinha caved in, getting bowled out for 140 in the 38th over. Only Shashika Ranatunga (32) and Mayura Silva (26) were able to spend some time in the middle.
There were no hiccups for Enhance as they chased down the small total in the 34th over, scoring 141 for four. Parth Trivedi led the way with a stylish fifty. The other opener Jason Manjila batted well too for his 31. Ishara Madushanka took two wickets for Sinha.
Brief scores: Sinha 140 all out in 37.5 overs (Shashika Ranatunga 32, Mayura Silva 26; Mohammed Faisal 6/18) lost to MDC Enhance Eagles 141 for 4 in 33.5 overs (Parth Trivedi 50, Jason Manjila 31; Ishara Madushanka 2/34).
Salman Stores thrash NYDT

In another A Division game, Salman Stores handed NYDT a crushing 188-run defeat, thanks largely to Asad Ali’s superb 132 at Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground II in Al Amerat on Saturday.
Batting first, Salman Stores posted a big total on the board, scoring 315 before being all out in exactly 50 overs. Asad was supported well by opener Jahanzeb Asghar Ali who looked good in his knock of 87 off 90 balls. Asim Kamal once again chipped in with a useful 36. Syed Taha of NYDT bagged five wickets for 67 runs while young fast bowler Obaidullah bowled well to claim two wickets for 29 in his nine-over spell.
NYDT were set back by early jolts and never really recovered from being 47 for five. Syed Taha played a fighting knock of 48 before NYDT folded up for 127 in the 41st over. Imran Haider bowled beautifully to claim three wickets while paceman Muzammil Ilyas was again impressive, taking two wickets in his eight-over spell.
Brief scores: Salman Stores 315 all out in 50 overs (Asad Ali 132, Jahanzeb Asghar Ali 87, Asim Kamal 36; Syed Taha 5/67, Obaidullah 2/29) bt NYDT 127 all out in 40.5 overs (Syed Taha 48, Imran Haider 3/33, Muzammil Ilyas 2/22).
A rare SARCO batting collapse handed PSD a comfortable 56-run win in a 30-over B Division game at Muscat Municipality Ground III in Al Amerat.
Batting first, PSD struggled their way to 177 for eight in 30 overs with only Sajeed Ahmed (46 off 51) and Ahmed Murtaz (41 off 27) making notable contributions with the bat. Jeetheesha Jingalaya and Pradeep Salian took two wickets each.
Sarco suffered one setback after another as PSD never really allowed them to play freely, reducing them to 69 for five and finally dismissing them for 121 in only 16 overs. Opener Deepak Kumar fought a lone battle, scoring 63 off 38 balls including four sixes. Chadith Lakmal bowled a great spell, taking four wickets for just 12 runs while Ahammad Karim took three for 18.
Brief scores: PSD 177 for 8 in 30 overs (Sajeed Ahmed 46, Ahmed Murtaz 41, Manjit Singh 21; Jeetheesha 2/32, Pradeep Salian 2/34) bt SARCO 121 all out in 16 overs (Deepak Kumar 63, Ajay Menon 20; Chadith Lakmal 4/12, Ahammad Karim 3/18).