Cricket: South Africa complete series sweep against Bangladesh

Sports Sunday 22/October/2017 20:26 PM
By: Times News Service
Cricket: South Africa complete series sweep against Bangladesh

East London: Aiden Markram scored a half century and took two wickets on his One-day International debut as South Africa completed a clean sweep of their three-match series against Bangladesh with a crushing 200-run victory at Buffalo Park on Sunday.
Markram contributed 66 from 60 balls as South Africa posted 369 for six from their 50 overs, with Faf du Plessis (91 from 67 balls) and Quinton de Kock (73 from 68) also in the runs.
Du Plessis retired hurt with a lower back strain and has been withdrawn from the two-match Twenty20 International series that starts in Bloemfontein on Thursday as JP Duminy takes over the captaincy duties.
Bangladesh slipped to 61 for five in reply and were eventually all out for 169 as Markram claimed two for 18, including the wicket of Shakib Al Hasan (63 from 82), who provided the lone score of note for the visitors.
T. Bavuma c Das b M. Hasan 48
Q. de Kock c&b M. Hasan 73
F. du Plessis retired hurt 91
A. Markram run out 66
A. de Villiers c Mortaza b R. Hossain 20
F. Behardien (not out) 33
W. Mulder lbw Ahmed 2
A. Phehlukwayo c Rahim b Ahmed 5
K. Rabada (not out) 23
Extras (lb-3, w-5) 8
Total (6 wkts, 50 overs) 369
Fall of wickets: 1-119, 2-132, 3-289, 4-325, 5-329, 6-335.
Did not bat: D. Paterson, I. Tahir
Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 9-0-69-0 (w-1); Mehidy Hasan 10-0- 59-2; Rubel Hossain 10-0-75-1; Shakib Al Hasan 10-0-56-0 (w-2); Taskin Ahmed 7-0-66-2 (w-1); Mahmudullah 3-0-33-0 (w-1); Sabbir Rahman 1-0-8-0.
Imrul Kayes c Behardien b Paterson 1
Soumya Sarkar c Markram b Rabada 8
Liton Das lbw Paterson 6
Mushfiqur Rahim c Rabada b Phehlukwayo 8
Shakib Al Hasan c sub b Markram 63
Mahmudullah lbw Mulder 2
Sabbir Rahman c de Kock b Markram 39
Mehidy Hasan c de Villiers b Tahir 15
Mashrafe Mortaza c de Kock b Paterson 17
Taskin Ahmed c sub b Tahir 2
Rubel Hossain (not out) 0
Extras (b-1, lb-1, nb-1, w-5) 8
Total (all out, 40.4 overs) 169
Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-15, 3-20, 4-51, 5-61, 6-128, 7-135, 8-163, 9-169.
Bowling: K. Rabada 8-1-33-1 (w-2); D. Paterson 9-0-44-3 (w-1); W. Mulder 8-0-32-1 (nb-1, w-1) A. Phehlukwayo 4-1-13-1; I. Tahir 8.4-1-27-2 (w-1); A. Markram 3-0-18-2.
Umpires: Shaun George, Chettithody Shamshuddin
TV umpire: Ruchira Palliyaguruge
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle