Oman Cricket: Aaqib, Vaibhav shine as Muscat CT defeat Passage to India

Sports Sunday 15/October/2017 18:06 PM
By: Times News Service
Oman Cricket: Aaqib, Vaibhav shine as Muscat CT defeat Passage to India

Muscat: Muscat CT’s unbeaten run in the fiercely-contested Premier Division continued with another victory, this time against winless Passage to India (PTI) in a match played at the Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground I in Al Amerat on Saturday.
Struggling at 98 for five in the 24th over, PTI was lifted by crucial knocks from Jaymin Taylor (40) and Syed Amir Ali (21) before they were bowled out for 195 in the 46th over.
Zeeshan Siddiqui (38), Muhammed Sajjad Ali (22) and Pruthvikumar Machhi (22) were the other notable scorers.
Aaqib Ilyas and Ayaan Khan led the bowling honours for Muscat CT, taking four and three wickets respectively. Paceman Munis Ansari chipped in with two vital wickets.
Captain Vaibhav Wategaonkar was once again instrumental in Muscat CT chasing down a total, seeing his side home with an unbeaten 56 off 78 balls. Swapnil Khadye (36), Sudeep Chavan (32) and Jatinder Singh (30) batted well too as Muscat scored 196 for seven in the 39th over. Bilal Khan took three wickets for PTI.
Brief scores: PTI 195 all out in 45.5 overs (Jaymin Taylor 40, Zeeshan Siddiqui 38; Aaqib Ilyas 4/22, Ayaan Khan 3/48, Munis Ansari 2/39) lost to Muscat CT 196 for 7 in 38.5 overs (Vaibhav Wategaonkar 56, Swapnil Khadye 36, Sudeep Chavan 32, Jatinder Singh 30; Bilal Khan 3/62).
Sujith, Aditya lift QBG

Captain Sujith Kumar’s three-wicket haul and Aditya Vithal Dalvi’s whirlwind half century led Qurum Business Group (QBG) to an easy five-wicket win against New Prism International in a C Division match at Muscat Municipality Ground III.
Batting first, New Prism were bundled out for 124 in 17.4 overs. Yogendra Rajput top-scored with 43 off 34 while Hardik Patel contributed 25. Sujith Kumar bowled well to claim three wickets for 18 runs.
QBG raced to the target in the 14th over, scoring 125 for five, Aditya leading the way with a 25-ball 58. Mohammed Ali slammed 25 off 16. Punit Mehta and Imran Sardar bagged three and two wickets respectively.
Brief scores: New Prism International 124 all out in 17.4 overs (Yogendra Rajput 43, Hardik Patel 25, Rakesh Sudhakar 21; Sujith Kumar 3/18) lost to QBG 125 for 5 in 13.2 overs (Aditya Vithal Dalvi 58, Mohammed Ali 25, Dibin Kuriakose 21; Punit Mehta 3/25, Imran Sardar 2/14).
Shahid, Qamar star for Trust Oilfield

Trust Oilfield Services all-rounders Shahid Mahmood and Qamar Nazir were the heroes of their team’s impressive eight-wicket win over Zubair CT in a D Division match played at Muscat Municipality Ground III.
Both Shahid and Qamar were instrumental in having Zubair dismissed cheaply for 112 in 20 overs, taking four and three wickets respectively. Vijesh Puthan bowled well too, taking two for 15.
Shahid gave Trust Oilfield a hurricane start with a hard-hitting 24 off just seven balls, including three fours and two sixes. Qamar batted superbly (46 off 36) to make sure his side raced to the target in just 11.2 overs, losing only two wickets in the process.
Brief scores: Zubair CT 112 all out in 20 overs (Adnan Mahboob 23; Shahid Mahmood 4/22, Qamar Nazir 3/20, Vijesh Puthan 2/15) lost to Trust Oilfield Services 113 for 3 in 11.2 overs (Qamar Nazir 46 n.o., Shahid Mahmood 24, Vijesh Puthan 21).
NBO rout Fahad Express
Syed Arfan Ali, Zaheer Abbas and Mustansar Hussain helped National Bank of Oman (NBO) defeat Fahad Express by 44 runs in an E Division match at Muscat Municipality Ground IV.
Asked to bat first, NBO scored 178 for six in 20 overs, Syed Arfan Ali top-scoring with a strokeful 56 off 38 balls. Jamsher Al Rahsi (34), Syed Arfan (29) and Mustansar Hussain (24) also batted well. Biji Sunder and Sunder A Raj bagged two wickets each.
Fahad Express was off to great start as the two openers Vijaykumaran Nair (40 off 37) and Suraj A Raj (37 of 27) were involved in an 86-run partnership. However, Suraj’s departure triggered a collapse as the team were skittled out for 134 in 19.4 overs. Zahher Abbas and Mustansar Hussain bowled exceptionally well to claim four wickets each.
Brief scores: NBO 178 for 6 in 20 overs (Syed Arfan Ali 56, Jamsher Al Rahsi 34, Syed Arfan 29, Mustansar Hussain 24; Biji Sunder 2/20, Suraj A Raj 2/21) bt Fahad Express 134 all out in 19.4 overs (Vijaykumaran Nair 40, SurajA Raj 37; Zaheer Abbas 4/15, Mustansar Hussain 4/24).