Cricket: Bangladesh fight back after Karunaratne ton for Sri Lanka

Sports Saturday 18/March/2017 19:10 PM
By: Times News Service
Cricket: Bangladesh fight back after Karunaratne ton for Sri Lanka

Colombo: Seamer Mustafizur Rahman and spinner Shakib Al Hasan picked up three wickets apiece to help Bangladesh reduce Sri Lanka to 268 for eight in their second innings for a lead of 139 on the fourth day of the second Test on Saturday.
The hosts, who conceded a first-innings lead of 129, appeared to be in big trouble in their second essay despite opener Dimuth Karunaratne's fine 126, his fifth Test hundred.
Sri Lanka were reduced to 190 for six at one point but fought back with useful partnerships from the lower order to boost their hopes of a 2-0 win in the two-match series.
Dilruwan Perera was unbeaten on 26 with Suranga Lakmal 16 not out and the pair have already added 30 for the ninth wicket to dampen Bangladesh's hopes of a maiden win against Sri Lanka in their 100th Test.
Off-spinner Mehedi Hasan struck with his first ball of the day to dismiss Upul Tharanga for 26 and break Sri Lanka's flourishing opening partnership after they had resumed on 54 for no loss.
Karunaratne and Kusal Mendis (36) added 86 for the second wicket as Sri Lanka stayed on course to set Bangladesh a challenging target to chase on the final day.
Mustafizur and Shakib brought Bangladesh back into the match by inducing a mini collapse which saw the hosts reduced from 143 for one to 190 for six.
Karunaratne and Perera then added 27 for the seventh wicket before the former became Shakib's (three for 61) third scalp of the innings.

Sri Lanka 1st innings 338
(D. Chandimal 138)
Bangladesh 1st innings: 467
(S. Al Hasan 116, M. Hossain 75, S. Sarkar 61, M. Rahim 52; R. Herath 4-82, L. Sandakan 4-140)
Sri Lanka 2nd innings
D. Karunaratne c Sarkar b Al Hasan 126
U. Tharanga b M. Hasan 26
K. Mendis c Rahim b M. Rahman 36
D. Chandimal c Rahim b M. Rahman 5
A. Gunaratne lbw Al Hasan 7
D. de Silva c Rahim b M. Rahman 0
N. Dickwella c Rahim b Al Hasan 5
D. Perera (not out) 26
R. Herath lbw T. Islam 9
S. Lakmal (not out) 16
Extras (b-4, lb-7, w-1) 12
Total (8 wkts, 100 overs) 268
Fall of wickets: 1-57, 2-143, 3-165, 4-176, 5-177, 6-190, 7-217, 8-238.
To bat: L. Sandakan
Bowling: S. Roy 16-4-36-0 (w-1); M. Hasan 22-0-67-1; M. Rahman 19-3-52-3; S. Al Hasan 30-8-61-3; M. Hossain 3-0-10-0; T. Islam 10-1-31-1.
Umpires: Aleem Dar, Sundaram Ravi
TV umpire: Marais Erasmus
Match referee: Andy Pycroft