Members of the new Oman Olympic Committee board announced

Sports Tuesday 31/January/2017 21:15 PM
By: Times News Service
Members of the new Oman Olympic Committee board announced

Muscat: Sheikh Khalid bin Mohammed Al Zubair and Taha Al Kishri were unanimously elected officially as chairman and secretary-general of the Oman Olympic Committee (OOC) during the general assembly held at the City Seasons Hotel on Tuesday.
To be recalled during the filing of nominations for the 2017-2020 term in December, the election supervisory committee had announced the final list of candidates to the board for the upcoming term of office.
Sheikh Khalid bin Mohammed Al Zubair was unopposed for the post of chairman, and so were Sheikh Saif bin Hilal Al Hosni for the post of vice-chairman, Taha bin Sulaiman Al Kishry for the post of secretary-general, Oman Tennis Association chief Khalid bin Ali Al Aadi for the post treasurer.
Tuesday's election meeting was attended by the former members of the OOC board and International Olympic Committee representative Hussain bin Ali Al Masalam, who is also the Director General of Olympic Council of Asia.
Also attending were representatives from the Ministry of Sports Affairs and other dignitaries.
It was indeed a festive atmosphere as the new team of board members under Sheikh Khalid was announced.
The meeting began with an address by Sheikh Khalid Al Zubair and the board also reviewed the agenda, reports on OOC’s activities and events, balance sheet and final accounts for the past period.
Following constituted the OOC board: Sheikh Khalid Al Zubair (chairman), Sheikh Saif bin Hilal Al Hosni (vice-chairman), Taha Al Kishri (secretary-general), Khalid bin Ali Al A'adi (treasurer) and members are Farid bin Khamis Al Zedjali (chairman of Oman Basketball Association), Mohsin bin Hamad Al Masroori (first vice-chairman of OFA); Sheikh Ali bin Bader Al Rawas (chairman of Oman Volleyball Association) and Saada bint Salim Al Ismaeli (representative of the Olympic Committee for Women Sport).