Taha Al Kishry re-elected as Oman Swimming Association chairman

Sports Tuesday 29/November/2016 22:40 PM
By: Times News Service
Taha Al Kishry re-elected as Oman Swimming Association chairman

Muscat: As expected Taha bin Suleiman Al Kishry was re-elected as the chairman of the Oman Swimming Association (OSA) when the Sultanate’s swimming governing body organised the General Assembly and the board elections for the 2016-20 term at the City Seasons on Tuesday.
Taha, an Ahli-Sidab nominee, had a lone challenger in Al Talee’a representative Nasser Al Alawi. But the incumbent polled 16 votes from a total of 24 affiliated clubs that attended the general assembly, while his challenger received eight votes.
Taha, a long-serving sports administrator of the Sultanate who held highly responsible roles both at the local and international sports bodies, vowed to further develop the sport across the country.
Speaking on the occasion, he said: “I would like to thank the general assembly, the clubs and the entire swimming fraternity for showing faith in me and electing me as the chairman for another four years.”
While congratulating his newly elected fellow board members, he said: “We will work even harder to achieve our goals, which includes the overall development of the sport of swimming in Oman. We will focus on developing the sport at the clubs level and also helping out swimmers to achieve good results in the international arena."
Al Zakwani retains post
Tariq Al Hashmi of Al Kamil Wa Al Wafi was, meanwhile, elected as the vice-chairman after he defeated Kasab’s Khalid Al Shuhi. Tariq polled 15 votes against Khalid’s nine.
Meanwhile, Taha’s long-time associate Qais Al Zakwani retained the general secretary’s post. Al Khabourah’s representative Al Zakwani got 16 votes against his challenger Ahli-Sidab nominee Khalid Al Dahli’s eight.
Mumtaz treasurer
In a three-way contest for the treasurer’s post Oman Club’s Mumtaz Al Balushi emerged the winner defeating Ahmed Mubarak of Suwaiq and Ashraf Al Harbi of Quriyat.
Mumtaz, who has served on the committees and boards of different sports bodies including motorsport and volleyball, polled 14 votes against Ahmed Al Mubarak Al Numani’s nine and Ashraf Al Harbi’s one.
A delighted Mumtaz, who is also a journalist and a media expert, said: “It’s a fair election and I am happy to be elected as the treasurer. I would like to thank the general assembly, the members and the clubs for showing trust in me.”
“This (election) means it’s a big responsibility entrusted with all of us board members. We will work as a team and work for the development of the sport,” he added.
“Our primary focus will be on chalking out a good plan for the overall development of swimming. We should also look to further develop all aspects of swimming, preparation, training and international participation... adding value to each and every area of the sport.”
“It is also very important to develop the technical and administrative aspects,” he added.
Five members
For the position of five ordinary board members there were 12 contestants and those elected five are Al Nasr’s Ahmed Al Hakim (19 votes), Bausher’s Mohammed Salim (13), Bahla’s Dr. Nasser Al Aufi (13), Al Musannah’s Said Masoud (13) and Oman Club’s Malallah Al Busaidi (13).
OSA’s new board members:
Chairman: Taha Al Kishry (Ahli-Sidab).
Vice-chairman: Tariq Al Hashmi (Al Kamil Wa Al Wafi).
General Secretary: Qais Al Zakwani (Al Khabourah).
Treasurer: Mumtaz Al Balushi (Oman).
Members: Ahmed Al Hakim (Al Nasr), Mohammed Salim (Bausher), Dr Nasser Al Aufi (Bahla), Said Masoud (Al Musannah) and Malallah Al Busaidi (Oman).