Cricket: Sri Lanka thump Zimbabwe to win triangular series

Sports Sunday 27/November/2016 19:21 PM
By: Times News Service
Cricket: Sri Lanka thump Zimbabwe to win triangular series

Bulawayo: Upal Tharanga scored an unbeaten half century to steer Sri Lanka to a comfortable six wicket win over Zimbabwe in the final of the triangular one-day series on Sunday.
Sri Lanka finished 166 for four, with 75 balls remaining, in reply to Zimbabwe's lowly total of 160. The home side were skittled out in just 36.3 overs after winning the toss and electing to bat.
Tharanga, together with Kusal Mendis, steadied the Sri Lanka innings after they lost their first three wickets for 42, including opener Dhananjaya de Silva, trapped leg before wicket with the first ball of their innings.
Tharanga, who hit a four to tie the game and then a six to win it, finished 57 not out off 98 balls. Mendis, caught at deep square leg, also made 57 off 72 balls.
Zimbabwe had changed their opening pairing in a bid for victory but Hamilton Masakadza and Peter Moor make no impact and wickets fell at regular intervals after a brief interruption for rain. Tarisai Musakanda top scored with 36 on his ODI debut.
Asela Gunaratne took three wickets for just 10 runs to wrap up Zimbabwe's tail.
Zimbabwe had upset the West Indies on Friday to book their place in the final.
H. Masakadza lbw b N. Kulasekara 10
P. Moor c Pathirana b Lakmal 1
T. Musakanda c D. de Silva b Vandersay 36
C. Ervine c & b Vandersay 25
S. Raza lbw b Pathirana 5
S. Williams c D. de Silva b Gunaratne 35
M. Waller c & b Pathirana 14
G. Cremer c K. Mendis b Vandersay 9
D. Tiripano not out 10
T. Chisoro c Dickwella b Gunaratne 5
B. Vitori lbw b Gunaratne 0
Extras (lb-3, nb-1, w-6) 10
Total (all out, 36.3 overs) 160
Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-19, 3-72, 4-85, 5-89, 6-108, 7-133, 8-155, 9-160,10-160
Bowling: N. Kulasekara 7-0-30-1 (w-4), S. Lakmal 6-0-23-1 (w-1), S. Pathirana 7-0-26-2, D. Shanaka 2-0-18-0, J. Vandersay 10-0-50-3 (nb-1, w-1), A. Gunaratne 4.3-0-10-3
D. de Silva lbw b Vitori 0
K. Perera c Waller b Vitori 14
N. Dickwella b Vitori 16
K. Mendis c Williams b Cremer 57
U. Tharanga not out 57
A. Gunaratne not out 16
Extras (lb-2, w-4) 6
Total (for 4 wickets, 37.3 overs) 166
Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-29, 3-42, 4-117
Did not bat: D. Shanaka, S. Pathirana, N. Kulasekara, J. Vandersay, S. Lakmal
Bowling: B. Vitori 9-0-52-3 (w-1), D. Tiripano 2-0-14-0, T. Chisoro 8-0-31-0 (w-2), G. Cremer 10-2-32-1, S. Williams 6-1-22-0 (w-1), S. Raza 2.3-0-13-0
Umpires: R. Illingworth & J. Matibiri
TV umpire: Michael Gough
Match referee: Javagal Srinath
Result: Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets