US sanctions five Iranians
May 22, 2018 | 8:55 PM
U.S. Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin speaks during a TV interview at the White House in Washington, US, May 21, 2018. Photo - Reuters/Kevin Lamarque/File Photo

Washington: The United States on Tuesday imposed sanctions on five Iranians.

In a statement, the US Treasury named the individuals as Mehdi Azarpisheh, Mohammad Jafari, Mahmud Kazemabad, Javad Shir Amin, and Sayyed Mohammad Tehrani.

The fresh sanctions, part of President Donald Trump's pledge to economically suffocate Iran in hopes of hampering the country's development of nuclear weapons.

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news