IPL: Delhi Daredevils eliminate Mumbai Indians
May 20, 2018 | 8:01 PM
by Times News Service
Delhi Daredevils' Sandeep Lamichhane, third from right, celebrates with his teammates during their match against Mumbai Indians on Sunday. Photo - @DelhiDaredevils

New Delhi: Leg-spinners Sandeep Lamichhane and Amit Mishra and pace bowler Harshal Patel claimed three wickets apiece as Delhi Daredevils eliminated Mumbai Indians from the Indian Premier League (IPL) with a 11-run win on Sunday.

Chasing a competitive total of 175, the Mumbai Indians found it difficult handle the Delhi bowlers and were dismissed for 163 in 19.3 overs.

There was no looking back for the Mumbai Indians after they lost Evin Lewis (48), Kieron Pollard (7) and Krunal Pandya (4) in five balls.

Captain Rohit Sharma (13) and Hardik Pandya (27) too departed after adding 43 runs. Though Ben Cutting gave some hope with a late assault, scoring a 19-ball 37, the Mumbai team fell short of their target.

Earlier, wicketkeeper-batsman Rishab Pant scored 64 off 47 balls to guide Delhi to a competitive score. Vijay Shankar with an unbeaten 43 was the other major contributor to Delhi’s total.



P. Shaw run out 12

G. Maxwell b J Bumrah 22

S. Iyer c K. Pandya b M. Markande 6

R. Pant c K. Pollard b K. Pandya 64

Vijay Shankar (not out) 43

Abhishek Sharma (not out) 15

Extras (b-1, lb-6, w-5) 12

Total (4 wkts, 20 overs) 174

Fall of wickets: 1-30, 2-38, 3-75, 4-139.

Did not bat: Patel, Mishra, Lamichhane, Boult, Plunkett

Bowling: Krunal Pandya 2-0-11-1; Jasprit Bumrah 4-0-29-1; Hardik Pandya 4-0-36-0; Mustafizur Rahman 4-0-34-0; Mayank Markande 2-0-21-1; Ben Cutting 4-0-36-0.


S. Yadav c V. Shankar b S. Lamichhane 12

E. Lewis st R. Pant b A. Mishra 48

I. Kishan c V. Shankar b A. Mishra 5

K. Pollard c T. Boult b S. Lamichhane 7

R. Sharma c T. Boult b H. Patel 13

K. Pandya c sub b S. Lamichhane 4

H. Pandya c sub b A. Mishra 27

B. Cutting c G. Maxwell b H. Patel 37

M. Markande b T. Boult 3

J. Bumrah c T. Boult b H. Patel 0

M. Rahman (not out) 0

Extras (lb-1, w-2) 7

Total (all out, 19.3 overs) 163

Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-57, 3-74, 4-74, 5-78, 6-121, 7-122, 8-157, 9-163.

Bowling: Sandeep Lamichhane 4-0-36-3; Trent Boult 4-0-33-1; Glenn Maxwell 2-0-19-0; Harshal Patel 2.3-0-28-3; Liam Plunkett 3-0-27-0; Amit Mishra 4-0-19-3.

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news