Oman Cricket: Danube win Salalah knockout tourney
March 11, 2018 | 3:14 PM
by Times News Service
Champions: Members of the victorious Danube team celebrate their title win. Photo - Supplied

Muscat: Danube emerged the champions as the curtains came down on the Knockout Tournament organised by Oman Cricket Salalah during the last weekend.

In a keenly-contested final, Danube defeated Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman by 32 runs to take the top honours.

Earlier in the semifinals, Danube defeated Ahbar Trading by 17 runs and Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman beat First Technology by four wickets.

Runners-up: Members of Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman pose for a group photo.

The organisers thanked sponsors Al Razi Group of Hospitals, Al Safwah Juices, Dhofar Beverages, Sweets of Oman, Al Bayan and Pocari Sweat for supporting the tournament.

Meanwhile, the Oman Cricket Salalah has announced the details of the inaugural Knockout Tournament involving Salalah Cricket League teams.

The tournament, scheduled to begin on March 23, will comprise two competitions - Intermediate Cup and Junior Cup.

The teams registered in A and B Divisions are eligible to play in Intermediate Cup while the teams from C and D Divisions will compete in Junior Cup.


1st semifinal: Danube 175 for 6 in 20 overs (Taha Rana 53, Syed Qalab Shah 43, Abdul Gani 45; Abhishek Choudankar 2/30) bt Ahbar Trading 158 in 19.3 overs (Imran 52, Antony 28; Abdul Gani 2/26, Manu 2/20, Osama 2/15). Man of the match: Taha Rana. Umpires: Sojan Devassi and Jamshad Ali.

2nd semifinal: First Technology 161 for 8 in 20 overs (Ijaz 51, Sihwanath 29) lost to Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman 162 for 6 in 18.2 overs (Shamsheer Ahammed 46, Shankar Lal 23; Vishwanath took 2/30, Sajan 2/33). Man of the match: Shamsheer. Umpires: Ujwal Agarwal and Biji.

Final: Danube 173 for 7 in 20 overs (Abdul Gani 47, Shailesh 44; Asif Ali 4/23, Asif Chora 2/36) bt Al Ameen Ayurvedic Clinic/Sweets of Oman 141 for 8 in 20 overs (Rajeesh 29, Shankar Lal 15, Dencin 33 n.o.; Abdul Gani 2/26, Abhilash 2/21). Man of the match: Abdul Gani. Umppires: Nazeer Basit and Parwinder Singh.

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news