All-round Anderson powers New Zealand to T20 series win

Sports Friday 22/January/2016 16:10 PM
By: Times News Service
All-round Anderson powers New Zealand to T20 series win

Wellington: Corey Anderson's all-round show helped New Zealand thump Pakistan by 95 runs in the deciding Twenty20 international on Friday and bag the three-match series 2-1.
The powerful left-hander punished the touring side with an unbeaten 82 from 42 balls to power New Zealand to 196 for five wickets in their 20 overs after Pakistan won the toss in Wellington and opted to field.
Pakistan were left to rue their decision as Martin Guptill and captain Kane Williamson gave New Zealand a rollicking start with an opening stand of 57 runs.
Anderson smashed six boundaries and four sixes in his knock and added 80 for the fourth wicket with fellow all-rounder Grant Elliott (19) to take his side to a daunting total.
Pakistan never managed to get their chase on track and were reduced to 15-3 within the third over and finally folded for 101 in the 17th.
Wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed (41) showed some resistance but other than Shoaib Malik, who made 14, none of Pakistan's batsmen notched double figures.
Fast bowler Adam Milne and Elliott picked up three wickets each while Anderson also pitched in with two before he left the field due to cramps.
The two sides will next play a three One-day International series with the first match at the Basin Reserve in Wellington on Monday.

M. Guptill c U. Akmal b S. Afridi 42
K. Williamson c S. Malik b W. Riaz 33
C. Munro run out (Rizwan) 4
C. Anderson not out 82
L. Taylor retired hurt 6
G. Elliott run out (S. Ahmed) 19
L. Ronchi c U. Akmal b W. Riaz 1
M. Santner not out 2
Extras (lb-2, w-4, nb-1) 7
Total (5 wickets; 20 overs) 196
Did not bat: A. Milne, M. McClenaghan, T. Boult
Fall of wickets: 1-57, 2-62, 3-94, 3-110, 4-174
Bowling: Anwar Ali 3-0-31-0; Mohammed Amir 4-0-35-0; Imad Wasim 4-0-42-0; Wahab Riaz 4-0-43-2; Shahid Afridi 4-0-27-1; Shoaib Malik 1-0-16-0
M. Hafeez c Santner b Boult 2
A. Shehzad c Boult b Anderson 8
M. Rizwan run out (Santner) 4
S. Malik c McClenaghan b Anderson 14
S. Ahmed c Milne b Elliott 41
U. Akmal c sub (Younghusband) b Milne 5
S. Afridi c sub (Henry) b Elliott 8
I. Wasim c Guptill b Elliott 0
A. Ali c Ronchi b Milne 8
W. Riaz c Ronchi b Milne 4
M. Amir not out 1
Extras (lb-2, w-4) 6
Total (all out; 16.1 overs) 101
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-14, 3-15, 4-36, 5-55, 6-75, 7-76, 8-92, 9-98, 10-101
Bowling: C. Anderson 3-0-17-2; T. Boult 3-0-32-1; A. Milne 3.1-1-8-3; M. Santner 1-0-7-0; M. McClenaghan 3-0-15-0; G. Elliott 2-0-7-3; C. Munro 1-0-13-0
Toss: Pakistan, who chose to field
Series: New Zealand won the 3-match series 2-1
Man of the match: CJ Anderson (New Zealand)
Umpires: BF Bowden and DJ Walker
TV umpire: WR Knights
Match referee: DC Boon (Australia)
Reserve umpire: AL Gillies