Oman Cricket: Basta defeat PDO, facile wins for Mott MacDonald and Bank Muscat
October 23, 2017 | 3:49 PM
by Times News Service
C Division: Basta team players pose for a group photo after defeating PDO. Photo - Supplied

Muscat: Jeason George and Murad Khan’s heroics with the bat and ball helped Basta CT defeat PDO by 25 runs in a C Division match at Muscat Municipality Ground I in Al Amerat on Friday.

Jeason and Murad were instrumental in Basta reaching a respectable 155 for eight in 20 overs, scoring 40 and 38 respectively. Malik Jr, Rajesh Khetani and Sajid Nisar took two wickets apiece.

PDO failed to pose a serious challenge and folded up for just 130 in the final over. Azhar Habib (37), Rajesh Khetani (22) and Tayyab Rasheed (21) were the notable scorers. Jeason and Murad caused the major damage, taking three and two wickets respectively. Captain Prasad Peruli bowled well too, bagging two wickets for 29.

Brief scores: Basta CT 155 for 8 in 20 overs (Jeason George 40, Murad Khan 38, Darwish Elickal 20; Malik Jr. 2/13, Rajesh Khetani 2/17, Sajid Nisar 2/29) bt PDO 130 all out in 19.1 overs (Azhar Habib 37, Rajesh Khetani 22, Tayyab Rasheed 21; Jeason George 3/12, Murad Khan 2/27, Prasad Peruli 2/29).

STS Tebodin beaten

D Division: Mott MacDonald celebrate their victory over STS Tebodin. Photo - Supplied

Mott MacDonald added another victory to their credit, defeating STS Tebodin by seven wickets in a D Division match on Muscat Municipality Ground II.

Batting first, STS scored 156 for six in their quota of 20 overs, Waseem Naeem top-scoring with 41 off 25. Alpesh Lad contributed an unbeaten 28 off 29. Savinraj Rajappan and Samir More claimed two wickets each.

Mott MacDonald raced to the target, losing only three wickets in 16.2 overs. Asim Abdul Qadeer led the way with a 51 off 34 balls. Javed Tannashah (38 off 19) and Bronal Barboj (26 off 18) were involved in a 66-run unbroken partnership for the fourth wicket to see their side home.

Brief scores: STS Tebodin 156 for 6 in 20 overs (Waseem Naeem 41, Alpesh Lad 28; Savinraj Rajappan 2/24, Samir More 2/27) lost to Mott MacDonald 157 for 3 in 16.2 overs (Asim Abdul Qadeer 51, Javed Tannashah 38, Bronal Barboj 26; T. Kaliraj 2/17).

MCCC A routed

Bank Muscat stars: Varun Sirohi, left, and Mohsin Saif. Photo - Supplied

Bank Muscat recorded a 143-run victory against MCCC A in an E Division match at Muscat Municipality Ground III in Al Amerat.

Batting first, Bank Muscat posted a huge 255 for eight on the board. Varun Sirohi led the charge with a 61 off 32 followed by Mohsin Saif’s 56 off 25 and Yousuf Al Balushi’s 41 off just 16 balls. Pankaj Gupta chipped in with 23 off 13. Rajkumar Tanna, Yaswanth Udayakumar and Piyush Sivakumar all bagged two wickets each.

MCCC A boys failed to trouble Bank Muscat bowlers and could manage only 106 for seven. Benny Mathew took two for 17.

Brief scores: Bank Muscat 255 for 8 in 20 overs (Varun Sirohi 61, Mohsin Saif 56, Yousuf Al Balushi 41, Pankaj Gupta 23; Rajkumar Tanna 2/9, Yaswanth Udayakumar 2/29, Piyush Sivakumar 2/44) bt MCCC A 106 for 7 in 17 overs (Nityanand Hedge 17; Benny Mathew 2/17).

Faris, Ajithkumar lift RAHRC

Superb all-round performances by skipper Faris Said Ali Al Zadjali and Ajithkumar Krishna helped RAHRC down NBO Muzn by five wickets in an F Division encounter at Muscat Municipality Ground IV.

Taking two wickets each, Faris and Ajithkumar lent valuable support to Mohammed Altaf who caused the maximum damage in restricting NBO to a total of 159 for nine, taking three wickets for 21 runs in his four-over spell. Qasim Al Ahmed (45 off 22) and Ismail Ghulam Al Balushi (24 off 16) were the main scorers for NBO.

It took RAHRC 18.1 overs to overhaul the target, losing only five wickets for their 160 runs. Naheem Pasha (39 off 26), Faris Said Ali Al Zadjali (39 off 32) Ajithkumar Krishna (36 off 21) batted well to ensure a comfortable victory for their team. Ashish Kumar Pathak took two wickets for 28 runs.

Brief scores: NBO Muzn 159 for 9 in 20 overs (Qasim Al Ahmed 45, Ismail Ghulam Al Balushi 24; Mohammed Altaf 3/21, Ajithkumar Krishna 2/26, Faris Said Ali Al Zadjali 2/32) lost to RAHRC 160 for 5 in 18.1 overs (Faris Said Ali Al Zadjali 39, Naheem Pasha 39, Ajithkumar Krishna 36; Ashish Kumar Pathak 2/28).

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news