Oman athletics: Gomes, Hancox emerge winners at Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Muscat Triathlon
October 21, 2017 | 5:13 PM
by Times News Service
Participants and winners in various categories pose for a group photo.

Muscat: Overcoming stiff competition, Pedro Gomes and Lisa Hancox emerged overall winners in the men’s and women’s categories respectively in the Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Muscat Triathlon here on Friday.

The swim-cycle-run competition, organised in co-operation with the Muscat Triathlon Team and Oman Sport Zone, proved a great success with all categories attracting a large number of participants.

Pedro Gomes clocked 1:12:40 to win the men’s overall title as well as top honours in the Sprint Individual 18-39 age category. Lisa Hancox took the overall honours in the women’s category in a time of 1:21:38.

The Sprint Individual 18-39 competition saw as many as 27 racers vying for the top honours, which ultimately went to Gomes Pedro. Warren Grigg timed 1:14:06 to take the second place and Gary Cummings finished third in 1:17:54.

The swim-cycle-run competition proved a great success with all categories attracting a large number of participants.

The Sprint Individual 40-59 age category competition attracted 33 racers where Asta Parkar’s time of 1:25:20 was good enough to clinch the top place. She was followed by Birgit Schulz (1:26:39) and Juergen Doerr (1:27:27) in the second and third places respectively.

The next event to be organised by Sport Zone is Muscat 10km Off Road Challenge, which is scheduled for November 3.

Muscat Triathlon results:

Sprint 18-39: 1. Pedro Gomes (1:12:40), 2. Warren Grigg (1:14:06); 3. Gary Cummings (1:17:54).

Sprint 40-59: 1. Asta Parkar (1:25:20), 2. Birgit Schulz (1:26:20), 3. Juergen Doerr (1:27:27).

Sprint 60+: 1. Robin Davidson (1:37:37).

Team: 1. Goochi Gang (1:15:01), 2. Flamboyant Gang (1:20:07), 3. Sagar (1:23:39).

xSprint 18-39 BR: 1. Dave De Jong (1:43:51), 2. Michael Trugillo (1:54:34).

xSprint 18-39 SR: 1. Genavieve Fairbotham (1:02:29), 2. Darija Hays (7:31:00), 3. Yahya Al Hashimi (10:06:00).

xSprint 40-59: 1. Victor Villaceram (1:35:50), 2. Adeel Naim Khan (1:42:26), 3. Marlon Austria (1:57:30).

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news