England announce 2019 Cricket World Cup squad
April 17, 2019 | 5:08 PM
by Times News Service
Image courtesy: England and Wales Cricket Board.

Muscat: England have announced the preliminary squad for the 2019 Cricket World Cup, which will be held on home soil.

Eoin Morgan will continue to captain the team, with Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow and wicketkeeper Jos Buttler all making the cut. Veteran bowler Liam Plunkett has also been included, as have Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales and Adil Rashid.

Ben Stokes – who at one point was the most sought-after player in the Indian Premier League – is also in, and he will join up with Jason Roy and Joe Root. David Willey, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood all make the final cut.

The England Cricket Board have also named a 17-man squad for their tour against Pakistan. While there is no room for up-and-coming Jofra Archer in the world cup squad, he has been included for this tour. The ECB also named a 14-man squad for their Ireland One Day International and Pakistan Twenty20 International.

England Cricket World Cup squad: Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news