Exemptions announced for travel ban for passengers from 7 countries

Oman Saturday 27/November/2021 18:48 PM
By: Times News Service
Exemptions announced for travel ban for passengers from 7 countries

Muscat: Omani citizens and residents who have a valid residence permit for Oman are excluded from the travel ban announced earlier today for six countries, the Civil Aviation Authority said.

“The Civil Aviation Authority would like to inform passengers arriving to Oman and all airlines operating in the Sultanate of Oman that it has been decided that:

1. Passengers arriving from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique and those who have been in these seven countries within 14 days from the date of arrival are not permitted to enter into the Sultanate of Oman.

2. Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families are excluded from the decision, as well as citizens of the said countries who have valid residence in Oman. All those excluded from this decision, including Omani citizens, are subject to COVID-19 PCR test upon arrival and mandatory seven days' institutional quarantine with COVID-19 PCR test on the sixth day.

This decision is effective from 08:00 am (Oman local time) on Sunday, 28th November 2021 until further notice and the Civil Aviation Authority urges Omani citizens to avoid travelling in the coming period except for absolute necessity.