Winner’s Jotun, Ideal Tech launch B Division campaign on winning note

Sports Tuesday 05/October/2021 18:00 PM
By: Times News Service
Winner’s Jotun, Ideal Tech launch B Division campaign on winning note

MUSCAT: Rahul Sasidharapanicker’s game-turning spell of 3 for 27 fetched Winner’s Jotun an exciting 21-run win over Pispot in a Senior Division T20 League match at Muscat Municipality Ground 3 in Al Amerat on Friday.

Jotun posted 176 for 8 on the board thanks to vital knocks from Prasad Nagesh (44) and Prajeesh (30). Monty Navani’s 4 for 36 was the principal reason Jotun could not compile a bigger total.

Pitspot got off to a flyer, openers Wajid Ali (27) and Fahad Hamza (28) putting on 55 in only 4.3 overs before Rahul trapped the latter in front. Wickets continued to fall at regular interval and Pitspot had to be content with 155 for 8 in 20 overs.

Brief Scores (D Division): Winner’s Jotun 176 for 8 in 20 overs (Prasad Nagesh 44 – 4x4, 1x6, Prajeesh 30 – 6x4, Monty Navani 4-36) beat Pitspot 155 for 8 in 20 overs (Sanoj Chandran 40 – 2x4, Rahul Sasidharapanicker 3-27) by 21 runs.

Ideal Tech beats Safara

In another D Division match at the same venue, Ideal Technology defeated Safara International by 33 runs. Ideal scored 165 for 8, Sooraj Raj and Arun Kumar being its notable scorers with 27 and 25 respectively. Syed Uzair was the pick of Safara bowlers, taking 3 for 31 whereas Sandesh Pusalkar bagged 2 for 26. Safara could not offer much competition getting restricted to 132 for 7 despite Pusalkar’s unbeaten 63.Arun Kumar bowled exceptionally well, taking 3 for 13.

Brief Scores (D Division): Ideal Technology 165 for 8 in 20 overs (Sooraj A Raj 27 – 2x4, Arun Kumar 25 – 3x4, Syed Uzair Saman 3-31, Sandesh Pusalkar 2-26) beat Safara International 132 for 7 in 20 overs (Sandesh Pusalkar 63 - Arun Kumar Ganeshan 3-13) by 33 runs.

Junaid stars in Aflag victory

Junaid Iqbal’s superb 61 off 36 steered Aflag Group to a thrilling 5-wicket victory against Capital Star in an E Division match at Muscat Municipality Ground 4.

Maheswaran Annadurai’s brilliant 89 off 61 was the highlight of Capital Star’s 152 for 4. Awais Mohammad claimed 2 for 17.

Aflag fought hard to snatch victory in the 20 th over thanks to brilliant batting by Junaid and fellow opener Syed Osama Afaq (40) who put on 83 for the opening wicket in less than 9 overs. Aflag sealed the win with 3 balls yet to be bowled, scoring 155 for 5. Tejesh Shetty bagged two wickets.

Brief Scores (E Division): Capital Star 152 for 4 in 20 overs (Maheswaran Annadurai 89 – 11x4, 1x6, Awais Mohammad 2-17) lost to Aflag Group 155 for 5 in 19.3 overs (Junaid Iqbal 61 – 11x4, Syed Osama Afaq 40 – 4x4, Tejesh Shetty 2- 24) by 5 wickets.

Ajeesh shines in Al Muthla win

There is no bigger weapon in cricket than a red hot cherry in capable hands and Ajeesh Puyuveettil proved this with his opening spell that took the life out of Landmark Group’s chase, fetching Al Muthla Golden a well-deserved 40-run win in another E Division match at the same venue.

Chasing 172 to win, Landmark was jolted by Ajeesh’s twin blows as he removed the openers without letting them open their account in his first two overs. The pressure became unbearable as it lost a few more wickets to reach 47 for 6 by the 9 th over, limping to 131 for 7 in 20 overs. Asjad Mohammed was the highest scorer with 51.

Earlier, finding solace in building partnerships, Al Muthla scored a respectable 171 without a big individual score, Viswanath Sree (34) and Jeason Jacob (29) being the main scorers. Kugan Kuganeswaran was the pick of Landmark bowlers, taking 4 for 28.

Brief Scores (E Division): Al Muthla Golden CT 171 for 9 in 20 overs (Viswanath Sree 34 – 6x4, Jeason Jacob 29 – 3x4, Kugan Kuganeswaran 4-28, Khuram Rashid 2-15, Ajay Kumar 2-27) beat Landmark Group 131 for 7 in 20 overs (Asjad Mohammed 51 – 4x4, Ajeesh Puyuveettil 2-12) by 40 runs.

Poonacha powers TCM to victory

Poonacha Pattada’s brilliant all-round performance lifted Team Coorg Muscat (TCM) to a 4-wicket win over KCA Deutag in an F Division game at OAC 3 ground in Seeb.

Poonacha first picked up 2 for 16 in KCA’s 171 for 7 in 20 overs that saw a brilliant 58 from opener Mujtaba Ahmed, and that led the chase with a topscore of 44 off 35. TCM surpassed the total in the 18 th over, scoring 174 for 6 including 33 off from opener Bronal Barboj. Irtaza Ahmed claimed 3 for 26.

Brief Scores (F Division): KCA Deutag 171 for 7 in 20 overs (Mujtaba Ahmed 58 – 7x4, 2x6, Poonacha Pattada 2-16, Dinal Napanda 2-28, Thimmaiah Alemada 2-39) lost to Team Coorg Muscat (TCM) 174 for 6 in 17.5 overs (Poonacha Pattada 44 – 7x4, Bronal Barboj 33 – 6x4, Irtaza Ahmed 3-26) by 4 wickets.

OCT Al Hail B beats OCT Al Nahdha

In another F Division match at OAC 3, Khalid Rahim’s 3 for 21 was the highlight of OCT Al Hail B’s nail-biting 2-wicket victory against OCT Al Nahdha.

Aiman Khalid (54) and Nadil Al Balushi (30) were the main contributors to OCT Al Nahdha’s 153 for 5 that was kept n check by Khalid Rahim’s brilliant bowling. OCT Al Hail B built up its chase brick by brick, reaching the target in the final over as it scored 157 for 8 thanks to Adil Ishaq’s topscore of 38 and Hassan Mohammed’s 28. Nathar Pashambeh picked up 3 for 23.

Brief Scores (F Division): Oct Al Nahdha 153 for 5 in 20 overs (Aiman Khalid 54 – 6x4, Nadil Al Balushi 30 – 4x4, Khalid Rahim 3-21) lost to Oct Al Hail 'B' 157 for 8 in 19.2 overs (Adil Ishaq 38 – 4x4, Hassan Mohamed 28 – 5x4, Nathar Pashambeh 3- 23, Sharif Albalushi 2-18, Nadil Albalushi 2-19) by 2 wickets.