UAE says only expats vaccinated in country are allowed to re-enter

Oman Wednesday 04/August/2021 15:36 PM
By: Times News Service
UAE says only expats vaccinated in country are allowed to re-enter

Muscat: Expatriates from six countries are allowed to return to the United Arab Emirates, only if they have been vaccinated in the country.

As of 5 August, 2021, nationals of India, Pakistan, Nepal, Nigeria, Sri Lanka, and Uganda can re-enter the UAE, but only if they received both doses of the COVID-19 vaccine while they were in the country.

The National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) and the General Authority for Civil Aviation confirmed the same in an announcement, while also listing groups who are allowed to enter without vaccinations.

People from these six countries who are allowed to enter include “those with valid residency visas who received two doses of the vaccine in the UAE, provided 14 days have passed since receiving the second dose,” said NCEMA in its announcement.

As proof of vaccination, they must carry vaccination certificates approved by official authorities in the country.

Medical personnel working in the country will be also exempted, including doctors, nurses, technicians whether vaccinated or not vaccinated. Those working in the educational sector who teach in universities, colleges, schools and institutes are exempted, irrespective of their vaccination status.

Students studying in the country, people who deserve humanitarian consideration with valid residency visas, workers in federal and local government authorities, and cases of those completing treatment in the country, whether they are vaccinated or not, will also be exempted.

This will require all of these categories to submit a request on the website of the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship to obtain the necessary approvals, in addition to vaccination certificates certified by the concerned authorities in the country.

The exempted groups will be obligated to submit a prior PCR test within (48) hours from the date of departure, provided that the tests are from accredited laboratories and carry a QR Code, and that laboratory test is conducted before boarding the plane. Also, they must follow the precautionary and preventive measures upon arrival, including quarantine and PCR checks upon and after arrival, in addition to follow-up and health monitoring.

Travel will also resume for transit passengers from all countries from which transit passengers were previously banned, provided that the traveller’s last destination is accepted and a laboratory PCR test is submitted within (72) hours from the time of departure. The country’s airports will allocate special lounges for transit passengers while taking all precautionary and preventive measures.