Cricket: Rohit hits ton as India win series against South Africa
February 13, 2018 | 10:56 PM
by Reuters
Rohit Sharma scored a 126-ball 115 in India's total of 274.

Port Elizabeth: Rohit Sharma’s century helped India wrap up the One-day International (ODI) series against hosts South Africa with a 73-run victory at St George’s Park on Tuesday.

India took an unassailable 4-1 lead in the six-match series as Rohit Sharma finally came good with the bat, scoring 115 after India were asked to bat first and amassed 274 for seven wickets in their 50 overs.

South Africa, who needed victory to keep alive their hopes of levelling the series, were all out for 201 in response.

India replace South Africa at the top of the International Cricket Council's ODI rankings. India's ODI series victory came after they lost 2-1 in the three Tests played between the two countries last month.



S. Dhawan c A. Phehlukwayo b K. Rabada 34

R. Sharma c H. Klaasen b L. Ngidi 115

Virat Kohli run out JP Duminy 36

A. Rahane run out 8

S. Iyer c H. Klaasen b L. Ngidi 30

H. Pandya c H. Klaasen b L. Ngidi 0

MS Dhoni c A. Markram b L. Ngidi 13

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (not out) 19

Kuldeep Yadav (not out) 2

Extras (b-1, lb-9, w-7) 17

Total (7 wkts, 50.0 overs) 274

Fall of wickets: 1-48, 2-153, 3-176, 4-236, 5-236, 6-238, 7-265.

Did not bat: J. Bumrah, Y. Chahal

Bowling: Morne Morkel 10-2-44-0; Kagiso Rabada 9-0-58-1; Lungi Ngidi 9-1-51-4; Andile Phehlukwayo 8-0-34-0; JP Duminy 4-0-29-0; Tabraiz Shamsi 10-0-48-0.


H. Amla run out 71

A. Markram c V. Kohli b J. Bumrah 32

JP Duminy c R. Sharma b H. Pandya 1

AB de Villiers c MS Dhoni b H. Pandya 6

D. Miller b Y. Chahal 36

H. Klaasen st MS Dhoni b K. Yadav 39

A. Phehlukwayo b K. Yadav 0

K. Rabada c Y. Chahal b K. Yadav 3

M. Morkel lbw Y. Chahal 1

T. Shamsi c H. Pandya b K. Yadav 0

Lungi Ngidi (not out) 4

Extras (lb-6, w-2) 8

Total (all out, 42.2 overs) 201

Fall of wickets: 1-52, 2-55, 3-65, 4-127, 5-166, 6-168, 7-196, 8-197, 9-197.

Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 7-0-43-0; Jasprit Bumrah 7-0-22-1; Hardik Pandya 9-0-30-2; Kuldeep Yadav 10-0-57-4; Yuzvendra Chahal 9.2-0-43-2.

Umpires: Shaun George, Ian Gould

Video umpire: Aleem Dar

Match Referee: Andrew Pycroft

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news