Cricket: NYDT, Al Mada, Trust Oilfield, NBO win
January 1, 2018 | 5:10 PM
by Times News Service
A Division: NYDT team after their win over Glory Bower Strikers. Photo - Supplied

Muscat: Four-wicket Adeel Abbas bowled National Youth Development Team (NYDT) to a 64-run victory against Glory Bower Strikers in a Khimji Ramdas-sponsored A Division match at Ministry of Sports Affairs Ground I in Al Amerat on Saturday.

Opting to bowl first, Strikers struck early blows, reducing NYDT to five for four and later to 95 for six. However, solid knocks by Mohammed Mohsin (44 off 55), Adil Abbas Ali (40 off 55) and Hetham Bahar Ali (39 off 55) guided their team to a healthy total of 207 before they were dismissed in exactly 50 overs. Devdas Kalayil caused the maximum damage, taking four wickets and Mohammed Rizwan bagged two.

In reply, the Strikers were happily placed at 66 for one in the 12th over but slumped to 92 for five before being bundled out for 143 in 36 overs. Opener Vineet Rana top-scored with 50 off just 27 balls while Vijayanand Dhayanandan contributed 30 off 32 balls.

Adeel Abbas caused the dramatic collapse taking four wickets in no time to spoil the Strikers’ run chase. Jakir Hussain and Syed Taha Hassan bagged two wickets each.

Brief scores: NYDT 207 all out in 50 overs (Mohammed Mohsin 44, Adil Abbas Ali 40, Hetham Bahar Ali 39; Devdas Kalayil 4/34, Mohammed Rizwan 2/33) bt Glory Bower Strikers 143 in 36 overs (Vineet Rana 50, Vijayanand Dhayanandan 30; Adeel Abbas 4/13, Zakir Hussain 2/21, Syed Taha Hassan 2/43).

Al Mada win thriller

Al Mada stars: Ashok Patel, Deepak Bhandari and Rajesh Shetty. Photo - Supplied

Al Mada Engineering added another exciting win to their credit, beating Muscat Cricket Sports (MCS) by 11 runs in an Al Ansari Group-sponsored B Division clash at Muscat Municipality Ground I.

Batting first, Al Mada piled up 200 for eight in 30 overs thanks to Shahil Mohammed’s run a ball 64. Jayaprakash Devaraju (36 off 35) and Ashok Patel (27 off 25) batted well too making handsome contributions for their team. Mohsin Nazir was once again impressive with the ball, taking three wickets in his six-over spell while Syed Kazmi bagged two.

MCS suffered early blows, falling to 78 for five before Mohsin Nazir (42 off 35) and Tejesh Vagadia (50 off 47) staged a minor recovery with vital knocks. However, Mohammed Mohsin Raza claimed three late wickets to derail MCS chase as they finally fell short by 11 runs, getting dismissed for 189 in the 29th over.

Rajesh Shetty and Deepak Bhandari took three and two wickets respectively.

Brief scores: Al Mada 200 for 8 in 30 overs (Shahil Mohammed 64, Jayaprakash Devraju 36, Ashok Patel 27; Mohsin Nazir 3/38, Syed kazmi 2/38) bt MCS 189 all out in 28.1 overs (Tejesh Vagadia 50, Mohsin Nazir 42, Rahul Kerai 29; Mohammed Raza Mohsin 3/30, Rajesh Shetty 2/44, Deepak Bhandari 2/10).

Rahman lifts Trust Oilfield

Trust Oilfield Services heroes: From left, Shakeel Khan, MR Shammi, Sudheer CV, Mansoor Ali and Qamar Nazir.

A swashbuckling 65 not out off 26 balls by Rahman steered Trust Oilfield Services to five-wicket win over Mott MacDonald in an Enhance-sponsored D Division match at Muscat Municipality Ground III on Friday.

Asked to bat first, Mott MacDonald posted 153 for nine in 20 overs thanks largely to Tausif Tambe’s 36-ball 53 while Jijo Jackson scored 20 off 19. Shakeel Khan and Qamar Nazir bagged three and two wickets respectively.

Trust Oilfield raced to the target in the 17th over, scoring 156 for five. Apart from Rahman’s brilliant knock, Mansoor Ali contributed 31 runs. Savinraj Rajappan and Jijo Jackson took two wickets each.

Brief scores: Mott MacDonald 153 for 9 in 20 overs (Tausif Tambe 53, Jijo Jackson 20; Shakeel Khan 3/18, Qamar Nazir 2/22) lost to Trust Oilfield Services 156 for 5 in 16.2 overs (Rahman 65 n.o., Mansoor Ali 31; Savinraj Rajappan 2/20, Jijo Jackson 2/29).

NBO pip Oasis

National Bank of Oman (NBO) registered a nail-biting three-wicket victory against Oasis Water in an E Division game at Muscat Municipality Ground II.

Batting first, Oasis Water posted a healthy 165 for seven on the board thanks to Shyju Sulaiman’s breezy 49 not out off 26 and 21-ball 40 by Jerin Davis while Mansoor Veedu contributed 26. Zaheer Abbas and Moazzam Shah took two wickets each.

In their chase, NBO lost wickets at regular intervals but maintained the run rate to stay in the hunt. They finally crossed the post with just one ball remaining, earning a nerve-wracking victory for the loss of seven wickets. Syed Arfan Ali (38 off 32), Arfan Ali Syed (37 off 29) and Maanas Kapoor (30 not out off 14) were the main scorers. Jerin Davis bowled well, claiming four wickets for 36.

Brief scores: Oasis Water 165 for 7 in 20 overs (Shyju Sulaiman 49 n.o., Jerin Davis 40, Mansoor Veedu 26; Zaheer Abbas 2/25, Moazzam Shah 2/27) lost to NBO 169 for 7 in 19.5 overs (Syed Arfan Ali 38, Arfan Ali Syed 37, Maanas Kapoor 30 n.o.; Jerin Davis 4/36).

Subscribe to our newsletter and be the first to know all the latest news